Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barrett

Title: Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs
Author: Judi Barrett, illustrated by Ron Barrett
Series: N/A
Publisher: Aladdin
Release Date: 4/1/1982
Length: 32 pages
Format: Board book
Genres: Childrens, Picture Books
Challenges: 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Boardbook | Hardcover | Paperback
Rating: ★★★☆☆

In Chewandswallow, meals rain from the sky at appropriate times of the day, but a change in the weather blows in massive problems.

I wanted to read this after seeing the movie and never got around to it until now. I was looking up childrens’ books on my to-read spreadsheet and this was one that popped up. It’s not quite like the movie. There are similarities, and the book is good, but I think I like the movie better. In the book, the story of Chewandswallow and their unusual meteorological activity is just a bedtime story for two children. Their Grandpa was inspired to tell it after his grandson was pelted in the face with a flyaway pancake at breakfast. The similarities lie in the food falling from the sky, the food getting bigger, and the people of Chewandswallow having to leave their home so they aren’t flatted by an enormous steak or something. I was very unsure about the art, at first. I didn’t really like it, but when the story of Chewandswallow started, and the book was suddenly in color, I liked it much better. It’s still not my favorite. I tend to like more cartoony art in childrens’ books, but there’s no doubting the illustrator is a good artist. This is a good one for your kiddies. It’s a little silly, but cute. I would suggest reading the book before watching the movie. The other way around might prove disappointing.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Excellent review. I picked this up at a second-hand store lately but haven’t read it yet. Now I will soon!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,862 hits