Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (audio remix)

Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Narrator: Kim Mai Guest
Series: N/A
Publisher: Listening Library
Release Date: 10/11/2011
Length: 10 hours, 29 minutes
Format: Unabridged Digital Audiobook
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: 2011 Audiobook Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

I just fell in love all over again. I loved this book when I first read it, and I recently got the chance to love it again. This is just as good on audio as it is in print. When I first read this book, I was just coming off the high from Lola and the Boy Next Door, so I didn’t understand why people said this one was better. I get it now. This is the better of the two, but they’re both super cute.

Anna and St. Clair are two of the best characters I’ve come across in contemporary YA lit. I mean, they’re perfectly written for their age. They’re a little angsty and a little immature sometimes. It’s hard to fall in love when you’re seventeen. There are so many emotions floating around that it all seems so intense. I think Stephanie captures that feeling perfectly. Another thing she captures well is the fact that people make mistakes all the time. Both Anna and St. Clair make some bad decisions throughout the book and that’s okay. It happens to everyone. It’s what you do about it that matters and I think that message was brought out well.

Kim Mai Guest does such a good job with this. She captures Anna’s voice perfectly. It took me a bit to get used to her voice for St. Clair, but it worked. The only reason that was hard for me was that I listened her read Incarceron and Sapphique, and the accent is similar to those. I was actually suprised by how awesome she was. After listening to the Incarceron books, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I loved it though. Good fluency and distinctive voices. She also did a great job capturing the emotion is some of the more intense scenes. She almost had me in tears at one point.

This book is super cute and will leave you with an enormous smile on your face. Highly recommended!

 

Read my original review of this book here.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It would be fun to listen to this via audio. I agree that Anna is the better of the two, although Lola has some advantages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
