Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Title: Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins
Narrator: Carolyn McCormick
Series: The Hunger Games #3
Publisher: Scholastic Audio
Release Date: 8/24/2010
Length: 11 hours, 43 minutes
Format: Playaway
Genres: Fiction, Dystopian, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plains – except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay – no matter what the personal cost.

Warning: This review may contain spoilers of the previous books.

I was absolutely thrilled with this book. It’s taken all the three books to do it, but these are some of my favorite books. I’m very glad I decided to check out the audiobook. It just felt right to finish in the same medium I started in. I also probably wouldn’t be half way through if I’d read it physically. I’m just thrilled with some of the authors in the young-adult genre right now. It’s not just Collins, but she is one of the best.

My poor, sweet Peeta. It was so hard for me to read about some of the things he goes through. Peeta has certainly been my favorite character throughout the trilogy. I was so upset when he was captured at the end of Catching Fire. I was so worried he would be absent from this book. I’m so glad he wasn’t, but he really has a rough time. I really warmed up to Katniss. It’s been a very slow process. I wasn’t crazy about her in the first book, liked her a little more in the second, and loved her by the end of this one. I find it funny that people think she’s heartless. I think she has a big heart. Maybe it’s because I have access to her thoughts. I just know she’s really become a truly wonderful heroine. Gale, however, I never got into. I just don’t understand what’s so wonderful about Gale. To be honest, I think he’s a total jerk. Sure, he’s gone through pain just like everyone else in the book, but I’ve never liked him and now that I’ve seen more of him my dislike has increased.

I agree with Katniss about most of her thoughts and feelings. For instance when Gale and some of the other rebels are planning ways to take down the Capitol she finds herself horrified by some of the tactics they suggest because they sound exactly like some of the things the Capitol would do. The rebels think they deserve a dose of their own medicine, but I have my doubts about this just like Katniss. They have to draw the line somewhere or they will all become just like the people they’re trying to overthrow. I also agree with her in regard to those who were born and raised in the Capitol. These people were brought up under the influence of the superficial and malicious Capitol leaders. To a degree, they can’t help some of their actions or instincts. They were raised to think of the Hunger Games as just that, a game. There are also plenty of Capitol residents who understand the injustice of the Hunger Games. This explains the Capitol rebels. Some of the district rebels don’t make any effort whatsoever to put away their prejudice and are blinded by it.

Collins made me hold my breath for some moments and want to jump up and down in anticipation for others. The story was paced to perfection. I really loved all the action. I think these books will make terrific films. I’m very interested to see the people of the Capitol all decked out in their plastic surgery and ridiculous clothing.

I originally wasn’t crazy about Carolyn McCormick. I thought she sounded too old, but by the end I found her appropriate. The only thing I still don’t like about her is the speed of her narration. It’s really slow and it just doesn’t sound natural. I really like the Playaway audiobooks. They’re really neat. The only thing I don’t like is the fact that I can’t see my progress because of the way they split up the time. That’s not that big of a deal though.

 

Previous books in this series:
The Hunger Games
Catching Fire

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,449 hits
