The Darkest Passion by Gena Showalter

Title: The Darkest Passion
Author: Gena Showalter
Narrator: Max Bellmore
Series: Lords of the Underworld #5
Publisher: Harlequin/Audible
Release Date: 7/16/2010
Length: 13 hours, 23 minutes
Format: Unabridged Digital Audiobook
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Challenges: 2012 Audiobook Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★☆

For weeks, the immortal warrior Aeron has sensed an invisible female presence. An angel-demon-assassin has been sent to kill him. Or has she? Olivia claims she fell from the heavens, giving up immortality because she couldn’t bear to harm him. But trusting – and falling for – Olivia will endanger them all. So how has this mortal with the huge blue eyes already unleashed Aeron’s darkest passion?

Now, with an enemy hot on his trail and his faithful demon companion determined to remove Olivia from his life, Aeron is trapped between duty and consuming desire. Worse still, a new executioner has been sent to do the job Olivia wouldn’t…

I feel like I was a little slow getting back into this series. While I enjoyed the last one, getting back into the world was a little rough. I think it stemmed a little from the fact that I didn’t like some of the things that happened in that one, and that I was having just a little trouble following the plot lines. This one got me back into the swing of things though. I mean, seriously, there was some serious plot work in this one. Also, Aeron was awesome when he wasn’t being broody. Maybe my favorite lord so far… though I do say that about pretty much every book.

How crazy and complicated can this plot get? Sometimes I feel like that’s what Gena Showalter asks herself when she’s writing these books. Sometimes, I have trouble. I don’t even try to guess where things are going because I’ll never be right. It’s never obvious. And I’m always on the brink of despair for the couple in each novel toward the end. She stacks those odds so high against them that I can never see how it will work out. Then she miraculously pulls the solution out of freaking nowhere. No one is that lucky, not even gorgeous, soul-tortured immortals. Nevertheless, I keep listening because I need to know what happens next. If there’s one thing this author can pull off, it’s a hook.

There’s not much depth to the characters. Then again, who am I to make a statement like that about immortal lords who are trapped in their own bodies with demons that compel them to act against their wills? I guess it’s difficult to have any realistic depth when you’re in that kind of situation. They do develop a little though. Aeron has never understood humans and their blase acceptance of their own deaths. How could they act normal when they had so little time? When he’s standing at death’s door, he starts to understand. Olivia, a joy bringing angel, decides she wants to experience what it’s like to be human with Aeron, she finds true joy in his arms. It’s not much, but it’s enough considering the genre.

If there is one definite thing I don’t like about this series it’s some of the turns of phrase Gena Showalter uses. Sometimes, I’m thinking “who the hell talks like that?” Some of it just sounds so… immature. It’s distracting and I get disconnected from the characters for a short time. It’s something I’m choosing to overlook for the sake of knowing what the heck happens next!

Max Bellmore does his job pretty well again. He could be a little more consitent. Sometimes names are pronounced a little differently and every now and then character voices change. For the most part he does really well though. His voices for Torin, Lucien, and Sabin are really distinguishable. That’s pretty nice.

If you’re into paranormal romance, make sure to check these out!

 

Previous books in this series:
The Darkest Night
The Darkest Kiss
The Darkest Pleasure
The Darkest Whisper

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
