Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Title: Graffiti Moon
Author: Cath Crowley
Narrators: Ben Maclaine, Hamish R. Johnson, Chelsea Bruland
Series: N/A
Publisher: Listening Library
Release Date: 2/14/2012
Length: 6 hours, 9 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CDs
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: 2012 Audiobook Challenge, 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

Senior year is over, and Lucy has the perfect way to celebrate: tonight, she’s going to find Shadow, the mysterious graffiti artist whose work appears all over the city. He’s out there somewhere—spraying color, spraying birds and blue sky on the night—and Lucy knows a guy who paints like Shadow is someone she could fall for. Really fall for. Instead, Lucy’s stuck at a party with Ed, the guy she’s managed to avoid since the most awkward date of her life. But when Ed tells her he knows where to find Shadow, they’re suddenly on an all-night search around the city. And what Lucy can’t see is the one thing that’s right before her eyes.

I devoured this book in a little over 24 hours. That’s always a good sign so get ready for a rave review. I do really wish all of the art in this book was real. I want to see Ed’s walls so bad. I’m about to do some major graffiti stalking just to see if I can find something half as beautiful as the descriptions of Ed’s art. Also, Lucy’s fleet of memories? Genius.

The story takes place in one night. Lucy and her friends decide they’re going to have fun and celebrate the end of their high school careers. Lucy is also determined to find Shadow, the graffiti artist she’s convinced herself she could fall in love with. Ed and his friends have something illegal going down later, and this time it’s worse than painting walls. When the groups collide, Ed and Lucy end up on their own seeking out the mysterious Shadow. During their trip across the city staring at walls he’s painted, they begin to deal with some of their issues–issues with each other and issues within themselves. There were definitely some lessons learned and I think that added a lot to the plot.

I was instantly connected to the character, mostly Lucy and Ed, but Leo had a good place in the book, as well. I think the good connection was due to the first person point of view changes between chapters. I got to see inside their heads and that was nice. I’m not sure the story would have been the same without that. The story is so character-driven that it needs a good connection, and it’s there. I really felt Ed’s insecurity and Lucy’s passion. I loved watching them learn a little more about each other until the truth was revealed. They really made the book for me.

Like I said, the changing perspectives were really nice and crucial, and I really appreciate how there was no trouble switching it up. I really enjoyed hearing something from Lucy’s perspective and then from Ed’s. I also love how descriptive Cath Crowley is. She brings their art to life. I could almost see it in my head and I really want it to exist. I also love Poet’s small chapters. I’m not really that into poetry, but his has a contemporary urban style to it that I really enjoyed. It also really fits the feel of the book. All of those things really enhanced the whole experience.

One of the things that drew me in instantly were those lovely Australian accents. I didn’t know where this book was set when I picked it up. I didn’t know anything about the author so I had no real cues to let me know it would be an Australian book, so those voices were a pleasent surprise. I never realized how much love hearing those accents. In any case, it made everything much more authentic. They all did a wonderful job too, perfect flow and sincerity. Great performances all around. I highly recommend this one on audio!

If you enjoy gritty contemporary YA books, this is a good one. I also think it would be a good one for reluctant teen readers. It’s the kind of book that could open kids up to reading.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
