Russell the Sheep by Rob Scotton

Title: Russell the Sheep
Author: Rob Scotton
Series: N/A
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 4/12/2005
Length: 40 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Childrens, Picture Books
Challenges: 2012 Support Your Local Library
Source: Library
Purchase: Hardcover | NOOK
Rating: ★★★★☆

With a distinctive humor and style, Scotton introduces a sheep with a “baaaad” case of insomnia, until he discovers the one thing he needs to count to get to sleep.

I didn’t know this was Rob Scotton’s first picture book before I picked it up. I’ve been reading his Splat the Cat books. I just thought I’d should try his Russell the Sheep books too. They’re just as cute as Splat!

Russell has a lot of trouble getting to sleep. He tries all sorts of things to make himself go to bed. Finally he decides to count things, but it’s not until he starts counting sheep that he finds something to make him sleepy. This is a really cute book for kids who are having trouble going to bed. One of my favorite things about children’s books is that they take situations children may find themselves in and make them understandable. They can send a message through childish humor and adorable illustrations. I think that’s why I like to read them so much. I love the art and the simple messages. Hopefully, when I have kids I’ll know just the book they need.

My little rambling bit aside, let me just say I love Rob Scotton. His art is great. I love the way he makes Splat and Russell look so fluffy. It’s so cute! I’ll be looking out for more Russell the Sheep.

I recommend this one for those little ones who can’t seem to close those eyes and go to bed. It’s a very cute book.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
