Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Author: John Green & David Levithan
Narrators: MacLeod Andrews & Nick Podehl
Series: N/A
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Release Date: 4/6/2010
Length: 7 hours, 52 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CDs
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★☆

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens–both named Will Grayson–are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-the-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

This book was a little different, probably because Levithan was involved. I liked Levithan. Like Green, he writes teens well. It just didn’t have that usual John Green feel to it. I think Green’s Will Grayson (distinguished in the print version by all caps WILL GRAYSON) definitely felt like the typical John Green protagonist. Levithan’s Will Grayson (distinguished in the print version by lower-case will grayson) is kind of the opposite of the John Green protagonist. It gave the book this very different feel, but not in a bad way. I really enjoyed it.

I loved WILL GRAYSON just like I love all of Green’s characters. He’s not quite as dorky as the characters of previous books, but he’s just as witty. He does have one problem though. He thinks the best way to stay out of trouble is to keep your mouth shut and not care too much. This rule, though it sounds good in theory, gets him into trouble. will grayson, on the other hand, just resolves to hate the world and everyone in it. His angsty attitude put me off at first, but after a while I found the humor in his cynicism. These are two common attitudes of teens. The truth is teens are terrified of life, just like the rest of us. But they have different tactics: act like you don’t care or hate everyone. Teens being the hormonal creatures they are, of course they choose the two most dramatic options. The book does have a message to give, and that becomes clearer as both Will Grayson realize that they can’t just push the people they care about away. It takes one huge, flamboyantly gay teen to make them both realize this.

I really enjoyed this book. It was hilarious, but still had a real message. I may have to read more Levithan since I enjoyed his portion of the book. I’m definitely ready for more John Green whenever he’s ready to write another book. MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl did an amazing job with the narration. They even sang! They were incredibly entertaining and delivered every witty line perfectly. I’m really enjoying my luck with good audiobooks lately.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This was probably my least favourite of Green’s books, but it was still really good. I also really enjoy David Levithan. He is worth checking out if you have never read him before this book.

    Reply
  2. I liked this one too – though not loved. I guess I’m not too much for teenage boy angst – but I loved Tiny – my favorite character in this story.

    Reply
    • Yes, Levithan’s Will Grayson was very angsty. It put me off at first, but it was nice to see him learn a little.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
