Paper Towns by John Green

Title: Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Narrator: Dan John Miller
Series: N/A
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Release Date: 10/16/2008
Length: 8 hours
Format: Unabridged Audio CD
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobson in the middle of the night–dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are definitely looking up for Q… until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q.

This book had me hooked from the beginning. It was brilliant and I’m ready for more from John Green. I’m already scanning through his other books to see what I want to put on my TBR list.

Quentin is awesome. I loved him instantly. And his friends are the perfect example of those crazy friends everyone had in high school. I especially loved Radar because he’s so brilliant and hilarious. Green has a great sense of humor. He writes the high school experience perfectly. Surely, everyone had their own Bens, Radars, and Laceys. Margo an original though. I knew a lot of wannabe Margos, but never authentic. The characters were so real and written to perfection. This is exactly what I love to get out of books!

There are some great references in this book. For instance, I absolutely love Woody Guthrie and Bob Dylan. I was so excited about their inclusion in Margo’s music. I’m also a big Walt Whitman fan, so I was pretty ecstatic about the inclusion of “Song of Myself” in the plot. Q’s journey through the poem was so great to experience. It really makes him think and I loved listening to his thoughts.

There’s a major theme in this book about how we see other people. I found this very interesting and it got me thinking a lot. Q ponders his idea who Margo is with who others think she is and who she actually is. It’s not something I’ve really thought too much about. It’s true though. The way we see people isn’t necessarily how they really are. Green uses the image of mirrors vs windows. Sometimes we look at people and we see mirrors: we see ourselves in them or what we want to see in them. The difficult thing is to look at someone and see a window: to look through to see who they truly are. It gave me something to ponder.

Miller was a great narrator. I don’t think I’ve been this satisfied with a narrator in a while. I’m thinking of looking up other things he’s read to see if there’s anything I’d like to put on my TBR list to listen to later. To sum it all up, this book comes highly recommended from me.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love all of John Green’s books. One day I should reread them as audios. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
