An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Title: An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Narrator: Jeff Woodman
Series: N/A
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Release Date: 9/26/2006
Length: 6 hours, 48 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CDs
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove the Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and get him the girl.

It looks like I’ll never get enough of John Green. I can just go from one book to the next without tiring. His quirky characters and witty humor reel me in every time. This book was no different. I love it just as much as I loved the others I’ve read by him.

John Green and I must have a real soft spot for the dorky-but-adorable guys. I imagine Green does because he is one. I think I do because those are just the types of guys I love. Colin is a hilarious guy with a rather amazing ability to remember everything he reads. He’s a little self-absorbed, but deals with that in the book. I really enjoyed Colin’s journey. He struggles to approach life in a way he’s never thought to before. Being so intelligent and interested in solving problems, that’s how he’s always looked at the world. It’s as if everything is this huge equation he has to figure out. It’s satisfying to watch him figure out how truly unpredictable and crazy life can be. That’s always what I love about Green’s books. He always points out the crazyness in life in way that makes it seem truly beautiful.

Of course, there’s plenty of classic John Green humor. Colin’s best friend, Hassan is a perfect example. Characters like Hassan are always the perfect compliment to the uptight protagonists of Green’s books. Hassan is the hilarious friend we all had in high school. Well, I know I had friends like him… except none of my friends were Muslim. I’m just always amazed by Green’s way of creating true-to-life teen characters and an inspiring story that’s not too cheesy. I can relate to his books, and I know I would have been able to relate to them as teen. Man, the more I read young-adult literature the more I’m convinced that’s what I should focus on when I start library school.

I really enjoyed this book. John Green is definitely a favorite author. I’m already listening to another of his books. I can’t get enough. Jeff Woodman did a terrific job with this audiobook. I’m not sure who chooses the narrators for audio books, but they always choose someone good for Green’s books. Consider this one highly recommended.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book by Green. I really need to reread him through audio…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
