The Darkest Whisper by Gena Showalter

Title: The Darkest Whisper
Author: Gena Showalter
Narrator: Max Bellmore
Series: Lords of the Underworld #4
Publisher: Harlequin/Audible
Release Date: 9/1/2009
Length: 12 hours, 20 minutes
Format: Unabridged Digital Audiobook
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Challenges: 2012 Audiobook Challenge, 2012 TBR Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★☆

Bound by the demon of doubt, Sabin unintentionally destroys even the most confident of lovers. So the immortal warrior spends his time on the battlefield instead of the bedroom, victory his only concern…until he meets Gwendolyn the Timid. One taste of the beautiful redhead, and he craves more.

Gwen, an immortal herself, always thought she’d fall for a kind human who wouldn’t rouse her darker side. But when Sabin frees her from prison, battling their enemies for the claim to Pandora’s box turns out to be nothing compared to the battle Sabin and Gwen will wage against love…

I wasn’t really that excited about this one. I mean, I was, but I didn’t think it would measure up to The Darkest Pleasure, which has been my favorite so far. But I was wrong! It trumped The Darkest Pleasure. I enjoy both Saben and Gwen, and I like how the overall series plot is developing. I’m never much for paranmormal romance, but this is so my guilty pleasure series.

Like I said, I like where the overall plot is going. I was really sad about what happened to Gideon, but since he appears in one of the later books, I know he’ll be okay. There were a couple of twists I didn’t expect. They definitely made for a more interesting story. I am worried about how long Paris’s story is getting drawn out. I’m afraid I’ll be building it up so much that by the time I make it to that book it will disappoint me.

As far as characters go, there’s not much to them. That’s one of the reasons I call this my guilty pleasure series. It could definitely be better. The characters are mostly surface characters, but I still like some of them. For instance, I love Anya because she’s so funny. Well, I love Saben because he’s intense. I’m not sure how else to describe him. All I know is that there is a serious intensity about him and I like it. The characters could use some depth, but I’m much more interested in the plot of these books than the complexity of the characters

Though there’s nothing particularly special about Gena Showalter’s writing, I think it fits. It works for this series and the genre. It doesn’t get in the way, and it’s appropriate. I also like her plot writing, in case I haven’t made that clear. She writes interesting stories and gives me my paranormal romance fix when I need it.

I like Max Bellmore for the most part. He definitely has the right kind of voice for this series. I think he does well in trying to makes the voices of the different Lords distinctive. I don’t always love his delivery though. Sometimes it’s a little off. Honestly, though, I don’t have the patience to actually read these books so I keep listening to the audio. It’s so much easier.

My excitement about this series has died down a little, but I still think paranormal romance lovers would enjoy them. So, if that’s your thing, make sure you check these out.

 

Previous books in this series:
The Darkest Night
The Darkest Kiss
The Darkest Pleasure

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. lupdilup

     /  March 26, 2012

    This is one of my favorites from the series! I loved Sabin and Gwen and I loved their story.
    Great review agian!

    Reply
  2. This was one of my favorites, I love Sabin and Gwen, and I love their story, I have to say, I love the way Max Bellmore reads these books, it works for me, but I can see where you coming from. I think…I can’t remember which book now… he’s perofrmance sounded it over dramatized, but I like him, for the most part.
    Great review again!
    BTW, that was me that just commented on Lola and….review, I jsut got my gravar. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
