The Darkest Pleasure by Gena Showalter

Title: The Darkest Pleasure
Author: Gena Showalter
Narrator: Max Bellmore
Series: Lords of the Underworld #3
Publisher: Harlequin/Audible
Release Date: 7/1/2008
Length: 13 hours, 26 minutes
Format: Unabridged Digital Audiobook
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Challenges: 2011 Audiobook Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

Reyes is a man possessed. Bound by the demon of pain, he is forbidden to know pleasure. Yet he craves a mortal woman, Danika Ford, more than breath and will do anything to claim her – even defy the gods.

Danika is on the run. For months she’s eluded the Lords of the Underworld, immortal warriors who won’t rest until she and her family have been destroyed. But her dreams are haunted by Reyes, the warrior whose searing touch she can’t forget. Yet a future together could mean death to all they both hold dear.

I think Reyes is my favorite character, so far. I’m not totally sure why. I just really like him. Maybe it’s the pain thing. I can be weird about stuff like that sometimes. Either way, I was totally pumped about this book because Gena has already set up the romance between these two characters. That leads me to my favorite thing about this series: the fact that there is more than one plot.

In most romance series, there are all the characters that show up in each others’ stories, but they’re really minor characters. Gena sets up the romances for the next few books ahead of time. She introduced the romance between Reyes and Danika in the first book. I’m already invested in them when the book starts. The reason for all of this is that the book isn’t just about Reyes and Danika. There’s an overall plot involving all of the Lords. That means it’s easy to get into all the books. It also means once you’re in, you’re pretty much obsessed. The only reason I haven’t totally demolished this series is because I’m only signed up for one Audible credit a month so I have to give myself a month between them.

The more I learn about this world, the more I love it. Gena is so creative and such a great story teller. The way she builds things is perfect. I’m always ready to scream by the climax of the book because I just HAVE to know what’s going to happen. This has really become my favorite series in the paranormal romance genre. Every single aspect is just so well done.

Max Bellmore didn’t have me totally convinced during the first book. I warmed up to him in the second book. At this point, I’m either used to his voice or I just like him now. I know I can be picky about narration sometimes. Then, I listen to terrible audiobooks and that puts things into perspective for me. Max does a great job though. He’s fluent and consistent, and he has different voices for all the characters. Those are the basics of what I expect from narration. I’m ready for the next one!

 

Previous books in this series:
The Darkest Night
The Darkest Kiss

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
