Manga Monday: Hana-Kimi, Volume 5 by Hisaya Nakajo

Title: Hana-Kimi, Volume 5
Author: Hisaya Nakajo
Series: Hana-Kimi
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 4/5/2005
Length: 188 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shojo
Challenges: N/A
Source: Borrowed
Purchase: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆

It’s the final day of the Osaka High School Festival, and two big competitions are still up in the air: the relay race and the cross-dressing pageant! You’d think Mizuki, an actual XX-chromosome girl disguised as a boy at an all-guy high school, would be a better cross-dresser than her classmates, but things are never so easy–and what if winning the contest blows her cover? That might be a relief for her classmate Nakatsu, who doesn’t know that Mizuki’s a girl, just that he’s in love with her. But when a real girl falls in love with Nakatsu, his love life gets even more complicated…

I’m really enjoying where this is going now that both Mizuki and Izumi are admitting their feelings, even if it’s just to themselves. Hopefully, I won’t have to wait too long for them to finally approach the subject with each other.

The dorm competition is over and I can’t say I was too sad about that. It was getting a little too silly. I appreciate most of the humor in this series, but it always seems to be just a touch sillier than I want. I’m definitely not sick of Nakatsu’s dilemma. His adoration of Mizuki is just hilarious. Now that he’s getting to the point of maybe acting on it, his part of the story could go in a very funny direction. I was tempted to go ahead and pick up the next volume as soon as I finished this one. I didn’t though because I had a book I needed to finish. The point is, I’m definitely enjoying it.

There was a little extra chapter that was mostly about Mizuki’s past. It was one of those feel good stories about a friend she made before she moved to Japan, where she and a boy help each other grow up a little. It was cute, but kind of pointless. Definitely filler. Things got back on track in the last chapter, when a reporter shows up who writes a lot about Izumi. From what I could gather, she’ll play a part in the next volume. That’s definitely something I enjoy about this series. Each volume leads into the next so it keeps me interested in getting to the next one.

This one’s still going strong for me, but I’ve got a long way to go before the end.

 

Previous volumes in this series:
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4

Manga Monday is hosted by Alison Can Read

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Filler seems to be a common problem with manga – or any book, really. I do often like background information in manga, but it needs to fit in well with the plot.

    Reply
    • Agreed! The filler in this volume was pretty irrelevant. It almost felt like those one shots in the back that I never read.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
