The Happy Hocky Family Moves to the Country! by Lane Smith

Title: The Happy Hocky Family Moves to the Country!
Author: Lane Smith
Series: The Happy Hocky Family
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Release Date: 5/1/2003
Length: 64 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Childrens, Picture Books
Challenges: 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★☆

There is a new book about the Happy Hocky Family. They have moved. Now they live in the country in a nice old house. Now when it rains outside, it rains inside their house, too. No more alarm clocks! The neighbor’s rooster goes “COCK-A-DOODLE-DOO” at 5:30. Look! Henry has made a bird feeder. The squirrels think it is a fine feeder. See Holly make a pretty bouquet of plants with three leaves. See Holly itch. Read the book! Have fun.

I was at a small disadvantage when I read this because I did not read the first one. I think it would have helped just a little bit. I got an okay grasp on what it’s about though. It’s a clever play on the Dick and Jane books that used to get published way back before I was even thought of. I didn’t realize that until I was to the end of the book though, so I went back and read it over again with that in mind. It definitely made the book more amusing.

I think what I like about this book is that it has enough of the ridiculous to amuse a child and enough clever references to the Dick and Jane type of books to amuse an adult. The Hockey family is a little more quirky though. But that makes the book even better.

I think the only thing I didn’t like about it was the way it portrays the country. I live in a really small town and it’s nothing like that. Of course, it’s not really a farm town. That could have something to do with it. I think the author’s experience with small town living IS in a farm town. I’m saying “I think” for a reason.

If you want a book that is a quirky sort of funny, try this one. It should be enjoyable for both you and your kids. I need to go back and read the original one.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
