Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles

Title: Rules of Attraction
Author: Simone Elkeles
Narrator: Roxanne Hernandez & Blas Kisic
Series: Perfect Chemistry #2
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Release Date: 10/1/2010
Length: 8 hours, 21 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CD
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for a year, he doesn’t want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him at a high school in Colorado . Carlos likes living his life on the edge and wants to carve his own path—just like Alex did. Then he meets Kiara Westford. She doesn’t talk much and is completely intimidated by Carlos’ wild ways. As they get to know one another, Carlos assumes Kiara thinks she’s too good for him, and refuses to admit that she might be getting to him. But he soon realizes that being himself is exactly what Kiara needs right now.

Why did I wait so long to read the second one? I was thinking there was no way I could like it as much as I liked the first one. I was so wrong. This one is just as good! I might even like it a little better. I’m not sure. It was nice to have a little Alex and Brittany in this one.

So, I love Carlos. He’s much more of a bad boy than Alex was. Alex did a lot of the things he did because he was trying to protect his family (Carlos does that too, though). Carlos does a lot of what he does because he’s being rebellious. Then he meets Kiara and he can’t stop thinking about her. He really surprised me with his honesty about his feelings. He pushes her away a couple of times, but for the most part he tells her how it is.

Kiara surprised with with how brazen she can be. She’s not all the time, but when they’re alone together her shy side is gone. Actually, the scenes that they’re alone together were kind of detailed. I didn’t remember that from the first book. It kind of surprised me in this one, but it has been a while so maybe I just forgot. Either way, I don’t think it’s appropriate for younger teens.

Again, Elkeles surprised me with where she took things. I wasn’t expecting some of the things that happened. It was pretty awesome. I love it when a book can surprise me, especially one that’s supposed to be so predictable. The trouble Carlos gets into is totally different from what happens to his brother, and how they get out of it is even more surprising. It was so engaging. I listened to the whole thing yesterday. I couldn’t stop until I had finished the book.

The third book hasn’t come out on audio yet. Hopefully, it will soon so I can listen to it because I love these on audio. Blas Kisic and Roxanne Hernandez do such a great job. Hernandez sounds a little old to be a teenager, but she still does a good job, and I love her guy voices. I think they’re adorable. I could listen to Blas Kisic speak Spanish all day long. Listening to the audio brings the Spanish flavor to the book in a way that would have been lost on me had I read it in print. Recommended!

 

Previous books in this series:
Perfect Chemistry

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
