Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Title: Perfect Chemistry
Author: Simone Elkeles
Narrator: Roxanne Hernandez & Blas Kisic
Series: Perfect Chemistry #1
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Release Date: 12/22/2009
Length: 9 hours, 50 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CD
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

At Fairfield High School, on the outskirts of Chicago, everyone knows that south siders and north siders aren’t exactly compatible elements. So when head cheerleader Brittany Ellis and gang member Alex Fuentes are forced to be lab partners in chemistry class, the results are bound to be explosive. Neither teen is prepared for the most surprising chemical reaction of all–love. Can they break through the stereotypes and misconceptions that threaten to keep them apart?

I’m so glad I picked up this book. It was amazing. It’s one of the best YA books I’ve ever come across. Alex and Brittany are definitely the best couple I’ve come across in YA literature. It had that West Side Story feel to it, but it never felt cheesy. It definitely wasn’t predictable. I honestly had no idea which way the author would take it, and that’s a good thing, as far as I’m concerned.

It took me at least the first disc to start liking Brittany. She was a little on the superficial side when it began. Or she felt like she was anyway. I liked Alex immediately. He’s the dangerous type with the heart of complete gold. He can be so loving and tender. He can also be a jerk, but it’s usually just a side-effect of covering up his softer side. They’re both strong characters, which I loved. It’s so easy for authors to write lopsided couples, where one’s always saving the other. These two can hold their own and they’ll go to the end of the earth for each other. They risk everything to be together and it makes the story really speak.

Like I said, the plot was never something I could guess about. Obviously, they were going to fall for each other (it says that on the back of the book). It’s what comes after that becomes interesting. How can they be together when they come from such different lives? What kind of trouble will their relationship cause the other? And how can they protect each other from being hurt in one way or the other? These are all concerns at different points in the book. They have to face difficult things and and jump over hurtles to be together. But Alex and Brittany have a powerful love that really can conquer all. They will do anything, even risk their lives, to protect each other and be together.

This audiobook was one of the best I’ve listened to all year. It was different than it would have been if I had physically read the book because there was some Spanish and Blas Kisic really put the Mexican flavor into the book that would have been absent in my reading. He and Roxanne Hernandez did a terrific job narrating. It was an excellent audiobook and a very powerful story. I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m so excited to read all your audio alerts! This book sounds amazing. I first just came across it this morning through the Feature and Follow Friday because of its not so appealing cover. So that rave review with an amazing audio review, I am definitely putting on my list.

    Reply
  2. I’m not much for audio books, to tell the truth (I just can never pay enough attention), but this is a series that I’ve heard so many good things about. I really need to get around to reading it! Great review! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
