Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Title: Under the Never Sky
Author: Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky #1
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 1/3/2012
Length: 374 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Fiction, Dystopian, Science-Fiction, Young Adult
Challenges: 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge, 2012 Debut Author Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | ePub
Rating: ★★★★☆

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

I’ll be honest, when I started this book I was like, “huh?” I had no clue what was going on and I really didn’t get into until about half way through. I knew two things: everyone seems to love this book and that it was a romance. Once I was introduced to Aria and Perry and started getting used to the world they lived in, I was interested enough to stay with it. I needed them to meet. Once they met, I needed to see how their romance would develop. People have been raving so I figured it would be worth it. And it was, for the most part.

There’s actually a reason I didn’t give this book five stars. Well, a few reasons. First, I had a hard time recognizing what the main plot was. Was the book about finding Talon and Aria’s mother, or was it about Aria and Perry falling in love? I mean, I know it’s about both, but most books have a plot, a main focus, and everything else (though not unimportant) is supporting material. I tend to pick up books with romance in them because I enjoy reading about romance, whether it’s the point or it’s just a side plot. But I do kind of want it to be one or the other. It just left me feeling like there was a lack of focus on a central idea.

I also felt that the introduction section was too long. It was about the middle of the book before Aria and Perry properly met. That’s a long time. It’s long time for them to meet if this is a love story, and it’s a long time for them to begin their “quest” if that’s the main point. It also made the romance feel rushed later on in the book.

After saying all that, let me stress that this is still a really great book. I think Veronica Rossi did a great job. I just think she could improve, and I’m really excited about that. If this is her first book, how great will her next one be? The characters were interesting and they developed. They were easy to sympathize with and I’m ready for more of them. It wasn’t the HOLY CRAP YOU HAVE TO READ THIS IT’S THE BEST BOOK EVER I thought it would be, but it’s worth reading. I’d say it’s even worth buying.

I recommend this one to lovers of YA and dystopian books, especially if you like some romance in your books. I also think science fiction lovers might enjoy it.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I agree with you about the slow start. I actually picked it up to read about a month ago, got confused in the first chapter and had to return it because it was due at the library. But then I checked it out again and read more than 9 pages at a time, but it still took about 50 pages before I started understanding what this book was going to be about. In my opinion, I think the main plot is the rescue attempt of Talon, and that their romance is kind of a side plot because it was so slow-developing (which I really enjoyed). I have a feeling that the next book in this series will really help define exactly what this book is supposed to be.

    Regardless, I did think this novel had fantastic world building. =)

    -Jennifer

    Reply
  2. Your review scared me a little bit because I’ve been wanting to pick up this book, but I’m glad it worked itself out along the way. I will be checking this out.

    Reply
  3. I am glad to hear you enjoyed this book. I look forward to reading it at some point.

    Reply
  4. This is sitting on my TBR pile and for some reason I haven’t started it yet. There have been mixed reviews for sure, but I need to just read it and make up my own mind!! Great, thorough review 🙂

    Reply
  5. This book sounds really different and I’m glad you liked it! I’ll have to check it out 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
