It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Last week I read…

Desired by Nicola Cornick

Colters’ Woman by Maya Banks

Whisper of Scandal by Nicola Cornick

Black Butler, Volume 7 by Yana Toboso

and I listened to A Good American by Alex George

and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I gave up on…

Pantheons by E.J. Dabel

I reviewed…

Hana-Kimi, Volume 3 by Hisaya Nakajo

A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Desired by Nicola Cornick

Grandpa Green by Lane Smith

This week I’m reading…

 Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

The Field Guide by Holly Black

When the three Grace children — Mallory, Jared, and Simon — and their mom move into Aunt Lucinda’s old house, readers know there’s magic afoot. The kids uncover a nest of assembled junk, and on a visit to the secret library via the dumbwaiter, Jared finds a note describing “my secret to all mankind.” After a few mysterious pranks that get blamed on Jared, the boy finally digs up the real prize: Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You. Fortunately enough, the kids meet one of the critters listed in the guide — a brownie named Thimbletack — who makes it all “real” and helps provide the book’s suspenseful conclusion: “‘Throw the book away, toss it in a fire. If you do not heed, you will draw their ire.'”

The Darkest Whisper by Gena Showalter

He is the keeper of Doubt and his entire world’s about to be rocked.

Bound by the demon of doubt, Sabin unintentionally destroys even the most confident of lovers. So the immortal warrior spends his time on the battlefield instead of the bedroom, victory his only concern…until he meets Gwendolyn the Timid. One taste of the beautiful redhead, and he craves more.

Gwen, an immortal herself, always thought she’d fall for a kind human who wouldn’t rouse her darker side. But when Sabin frees her from prison, battling their enemies for the claim to Pandora’s box turns out to be nothing compared to the battle Sabin and Gwen will wage against love…

and I’m still working on Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I gave up on a couple of books this week. One was Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I only read one page before setting it aside.

    Did I give up too soon?

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    I’d love to have you stop by.

    And I hope you’ll also enter the Readerbuzz February Giveaway! You could win All Kinds of Kisses or Paris to the Past or a $25 Amazon giftcard!

    Reply
    • I liked that book, but I listened to the audio version and it was really entertaining. Sometimes books come easier to me when they’re read to me.

      Reply
  2. How did you like TFiOS? I had preordered it but hadn’t read it yet. It was almost like there was so much talk about it, and it seems like such a beautiful read that I want to be able to read it ‘in private’. Stupid I know and it probably doesn’t make any sense!

    I hope you enjoy your reads this week – looks like it’s going to be a good one!

    My Monday Post:
    http://www.handsandhome.ca/2012/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-30.html

    Reply
    • I’m feeling pretty speechless about it so far. There are a lot of things swirling though my head, but I can’t seem to snag the words to voice them. I listened to it on audio in it’s entirety with no breaks alone in my bedroom. I think it was a good choice, though I almost feel like I might have to re-read it to get my thoughts in order.

      Reply
  3. I read and loved The Spiderwick books…such a great series.

    Have a great week! Here’s my It’s Monday Post if you’d like to stop by…I also posted a new giveaway today (see sidebar) that’s open internationally.

    Reply
  4. I have A Million Suns on my wishlist.

    My daughter’s Scholastic book order came in. Come see what she and I read.

    Reply
  5. TFIOS was such a good book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
