TGIF: Required Reading

Required Reading: Which book from your school days do you remember reading & enjoying? Is there a book published now that you’d like to see in today’s curriculum for kids?

There are a couple of books that really affected me. The Outsiders and Flowers for Algernon. I cried at the end of both! Honestly, aside from those two books I had little interest in the things we read in school. If I had to pick an author or two that should be in schools today I’d say Laurie Halse Anderson (who I’m sure does appear in school lit) and John Green. Both authors always have something to say in their books. They’re not just works of fiction. There’s real meaning behind their work and a lot of things you can unpack.

This week on the blog:
Review: Madam President by Lane Smith
Book Club: February 2012
It’s Monday! What are you reading?
Manga Monday: Hana-Kimi, Volume 3 by Hisaya Nakajo
Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens
Review: A Million Suns by Beth Revis
Why bother?
Review: Desired by Nicola Cornick

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Yes, I loved The Outsiders as well. My daughter’s teacher read this aloud in 6th grade. She enjoyed it as well. Another big favorite of mine was Where the Red Fern Grows!!

    Reply
  2. I can’t remember hearing about The Outsiders at all! I will have to check it out since so many people have mentioned it. Thanks!!

    Reply
  3. Laurie Halse Anderson and John Green have written works that would make for a great curriculum in school. I like how their novels tend to be thought-provoking, and unafraid to talk about things that are usually kept hush-hush.

    Reply
  4. Everyone keeps saying the Outsiders. I really have to read that one. And I totally agree with Laurie Halse Anderson and John Green. They both write amazing books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
