A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Title: A Million Suns
Author: Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #2
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: 1/10/2012
Length: 390 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Sci-fi, YA
Challenges: N/A
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | ePub
Rating: ★★★★★

Godspeed was fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos.

It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. And everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to enact his vision – no more Phydus, no more lies.

But when Elder discovers shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a puzzle that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier, unable to fight the romance that’s growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

I recommended Across the Universe to a friend of mine after I read it. She never could get into it and eventually gave up. I, however, was totally riveted. After she gave me the book back, I worried that I had just been crazy or excited because it wasn’t my normal type of book. Anyway, I’ve been slightly self-conscious about my loving of the book ever since (stupid, I know). So I was a little wary when I picked this one up. I mean, it’s been over a year since the last one and I’ve been having some issues with getting into second novels lately. what if I suddenly realized why she didn’t get into the book, and this one was disappointing? It seems stupid to be this anxious over reading a book, but 1. I take reading seriously, and 2. I’m exaggerating, a little.

So, now you’re like, “Laura, seriously, just tell me about the freaking book!” Okay. It was AWESOME. It was just as awesome as the first one. Now instead of feeling insecure about my taste in books, I think it’s time to accept that my friend is a quitter. She almost never makes it through the books I give her, and I read good stuff! Anyway, I devoured this book in a day. I think I read one chapter of it one night before bed, then woke up and read the whole book the next night. I couldn’t get enough and I’m so sad that I have to wait a whole year for the final one.

So, here are some great things about this book, and I’ll try not to gush too much. I had no trouble whatsoever getting back into the book. There were things that I couldn’t quite remember from the first one, but Beth Revis throws in those details in such a way that it isn’t noticable that she’s reminding me. Amy and Elder have my hearts in their hands. I love both of them so, so much. They both have a lot to deal with and they have some issues they need to work out between each other. I occassionaly had a hard time deciding who I agreed with because they both have good reasons. The plot is so awesome! That’s what really grabs me in these books. I have to know what’s going to happen next. I have to know who’s behind the crazy things going on aboard Godspeed. I have to know how things will turn out. There is no choice. I need to know! And I love that feeling.

Bottom line: read this trilogy. It gripping and so much fun! And there’s no need to worry if you’re not a sci-fi fan. I’m not really either, but I couldn’t get enough of this book.

 

Previous books in this series:
Across the Universe

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I tried Across the Universe too, and like your friend, could really get into it so I gave up. I guess I’m a quitter too! LOL

    But I’m glad this series has a strong fanbase. And I’m happy to see that this one didn’t disappoint you.

    Reply
  2. I loved this book too, and the first one, and now I can’t wait for what comes next 😀
    And I am not a sci-fi fan either, but this story got straight to my heart.

    Happy midnight reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
