Manga Monday: Hana-Kimi, Volume 3 by Hisaya Nakajo

Title: Hana-Kimi, Volume 3
Author: Hisaya Nakajo
Series: Hana-Kimi
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 6/30/2004
Length: 200 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shojo
Challenges: N/A
Source: Borrowed
Purchase: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆

Izumi, his friend Nakatsu and our crossdressing heroine Mizuki are hired to work at a beach chalet run by the family of weird school nurse Dr. Umeda! But when Kagurazaka – Izumi’s high-jump rival – shows up with his two younger sisters in tow, the job gets personal! Kagurazaka’s attractive sister Tamami has a crush on Izumi too, and she sees Izumi’s classmate Mizuki as a way to find out about the object of her affections. And then someone realizes that Mizuki’s actually a girl…

I can’t stop adoring this series. It’s a little weird, but it’s so funny and cute. Mizuki is so precious. I will say that I’m hoping the pretense between her and Izumi will end soon. It’s clear that they care about each other. Sadly, seeing that there are like twenty-three volumes, I doubt they’ll confess their feelings anytime soon. Nakatsu is such great comic relief. It’s so silly, but I like it. I’ve gotten to the point that I recognize manga humor and find it funny myself. His constant anxiety is hilarious to me.

Things got a little dark in this one. Mizuki gets herself into a scary situation. I have to say, I didn’t quite like the way the author dealt with that part. The guy (I forget his name) involved in the situation should have been punished a little more. I guess I’m glad he got fired though. Sorry if that’s vague, I just don’t want to throw out blatant spoilers. In the end, it was nice to see Izumi act as a knight-in-shining-armor. I just wish he would drop the act and tell Mizumi his feelings. I guess that’s pretty much the way it is in manga though. They always tend to drag the romance out.

All in all, this series still has me hooked, even it’s only to see how things play out between Mizuki and Izumi.

 

Previous volumes in this series:
Volume 1
Volume 2

Manga Monday is hosted by Alison Can Read.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I loved the Jdrama of Hana Kimi, but I could never really get into the manga, one day I’ll have to finish it!

    Nice Review!
    -Kate
    My Manga Mondays Post

    Reply
  2. I just recently finished this manga and I liked it. It did have a few chapters of just filler which I skipped but the main story was entertaining. I thought it was pretty funny considering poor Nakatsu was questioning his sexuality. LoL

    Reply
  3. Sorry it took me so long to comment on your MM! I’ve heard great things about Hana Kimi. I really need to pick it up soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
