Madam President by Lane Smith

Title: Madam President
Author: Lane Smith
Series: N/A
Publisher: Hyperion
Release Date: 7/29/2008
Length: 40 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Childrens, Picture Books
Challenges: 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Hardcover
Rating:★★★★★

A little girl imagines what her day would be like if she were Madam President. There would be executive orders to give, babies to kiss, tuna casseroles to veto (or VETO!)…and so much more! Not to mention that recess would definitely require more security.

With deadpan wit and hilarious illustrations, best-selling picture book creator Lane Smith introduces readers to an unforgettable new character.

Okay, this is cutest book. I loved it so much that when I finished it, I started all over again. I took my time the second way through, making sure to take in everything in the art. It’s so cute and conjured up a few giggles from me along the way.

I think this is defniitely a good one for your kiddies, especially if you want to teach them about the president and in job in a fun way. Or maybe you want to teach your daughter that women can take office and be just as powerful and influential as men.

Either way, this book is fun and adorable and full of small presidential references. I especially loved Katy’s vetos. She was so cute!

The art was beautiful, and I’m so exicted about getting to the next book in my pile of Lane Smith’s work.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This sounds like a fun one to read with my little guy! I love the vetoing of tuna casserole!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,856 hits