The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Title: The Disenchantments
Author: Nina LaCour
Series: N/A
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: 2/16/2012
Length: 307 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK
Rating: ★★★★★

Colby and Bev have a long-standing pact: graduate, hit the road with Bev’s band, and then spend the year wandering around Europe. But moments after the tour kicks off, Bev makes a shocking announcement: she’s abandoning their plans – and Colby – to start college in the fall.

But the show must go on and The Disenchantments weave through the Pacific Northwest, playing in small towns and dingy venues, while roadie- Colby struggles to deal with Bev’s already-growing distance and the most important question of all: what’s next?

I’ve had the worst time putting my thoughts in order for this review. I guess I’ll start simple: this book is great and you should read it. About half way through this book, I knew I was reading something special.

Colby is a good character, even if he doesn’t always give me the 18-year-old boy vibe. I’m impressed when authors even try to write from another sex’s perspective. I wouldn’t know where to start. I admittedly do not understand boy brains. They baffle me. I really love Colby though. I connected with him almost immediately. He never let me down, either. He was true to himself through the end, and I was so happy about that. The other characters are just as complex. Bev is a bit of mystery most of the time, but Meg and Alexa are just awesome.

I love Nina LaCour’s writing. It’s raw and real, which is something I always appreciate. It’s what really drew me in and turned this book from good to phenomenal. Everyone has their flaws and they all have things to learn. I also love that there’s no censorship for the sake of being “appropriate.” I know that a lot of people out there believe in monitoring things like language and teen sex when they’re looking for books to give their children, but I think that’s bullshit. None of the books written with that in mind would have spoken to me the way this one would have in my teens. This is much more in tune with the kinds of things teens actually deal with on a daily basis.

I also love the fact that it’s written in present tense. It makes everything feel active, like the story is always moving forward. I could keep babbling, but I’ll just wrap it up. I love this book and I highly recommend it.

Now for a couple of funny quotes:

“He got busted for stealing a tool kit and no one really wanted to hire him after that.”
“Why’d he steal a tool kit?”
PBR guy takes another swig of his beer.
“Why the fuck not steal a tool kit? That shit is useful.”

For some reason, that line slayed me.

“They make quite the band,” he says.
“That’s a nice way to put it.”
“At first I thought they might just need a few minutes to warm up.”
“No,” I say. “This is what they sound like.”
Mark turns to look at them. Meg is jumping around the stage, forgetting to even play her instrument.
“Last summer the house next to me was under construction,” Mark says. “It kinda sounded like this.”

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I am really curious about this book. Look forward to reading it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
