Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

Turn and face the strange ch-ch-changes!

Ahem. Sorry about that. I was really into Bowie my Freshman year of college, and he still holds a special place in my heart.

I just wanted to make you aware of some changes going on here at Owl Tell You About It. My first year of blogging was like a crazy storm that I didn’t know how to navigate. I just dove in head first and went with it. I’ve made about five millions changes since then. When I reached my one year blogiversary I decided I needed to really get things together and started trying out some things to see what really fit my blog. Yes, yes. I got ideas from others (who doesn’t?), but not everything I tried that I’d seen elsewhere worked for me. Now, a year and six months into book blogging, I’m started to feel settled and grounded. I’m starting to feel like my blog is it’s own place and I’ve made some decisions about what I want to do each week, each month, and each year in the future. Oh yes, I’m thinking in years. I loooooove book blogging. It’s the best hobby ever and I don’t plan on giving it up ever. Books are my true passion: reading them, talking about them, and sharing them with others. I’m definitely here to stay. Okay, okay enough of my mushy love of books talk. On with the changes!

First, and most obvious, is the fact that I’m at WordPress now. I’m really enjoying it, so far. There are some great perks, and I’m excited to keep learning my way around the place. I do feel a tad overwhelmed right now. I’m not used to being so clueless about the internet. I’ve always had enough of a grasp that I can manage. I’ve had some snags in the move, but I’m positive it will be worth it in the end. It would be nice to have an owl or two on this page though! I’m working on that, I promise.

Second, I’m going a different route with memes. There are only a few memes I plan to do weekly: It’s Monday! What are you reading? (hosted by Sheila at Book Journey), TGIF (hosted by Ginger at GReads) and Manga Mondays (hosted by Alison at Alison Can Read). The first Wednesday of every month I’ll do a WoW (hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine) post including that months releases. And the last day of the month (or sometime around then), I’ll post an IMM (hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren) listing all the books I received that month. I’ll have some others sprinkled throughout the month. I do enjoy memes, but they can easily become a lot to deal with.

Third, I have changed some things up on the “About” page and the “Review Policy.” They’re not huge changes, but you can get a little more personal with me now since I linked my Facebook and my Pinterest account. I’m pretty friendly and I’m always up for more bookish friends. And I’ve started writing “I give up” posts about books I can’t make it through. It’s not so much to complain about the book, it’s just to get others opinions on the problems I had with them. These aren’t really reviews. They’re just bookish posts. Anyway, that changed a couple of things on the Review Policy.

Fourth, and this isn’t really new, is that I’ve been doing TBR’s for each month and a wrap-up to review how I did. This is more for keeping up with my goals. I have a kind of elaborate system for choosing the books on my TBR that I won’t go into now. But, yes, I am a little anal-retentive. I’m also planning to do my literary yearbook each year. I have a hard time saying “XXXX was my favorite book this year!” I have no problem saying, “this character was awesome because XXXX.” That’s why my end of the year post is about the characters, not necessarily the books. Plus, I thought it was a lot of fun. So those are some things you can look forward to from me each month and year.

There’s also been a little formatting change to my reviews. I’m slowly going back through older posts and editing them to match the new format. I’m really excited about all the changes and I hope they make my blog better. Thanks for reading! You’re all amazing!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
