Manga Monday: Ouran High School Host Club, Volume 16 by Bisco Hatori

Title: Ouran High School Host Club, Volume 16
Author: Bisco Hatori
Series: Ouran High School Host Club
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 6/7/2011
Length: 183 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shojo
Challenges: 2012 TBR Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Paperback
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The two senior members of the Host Club are graduating and will lead separate lives at university. Everyone is mourning the loss of the Hunny-Mori Combo, but the longtime duo already seems to have ended their close friendship. Now Mori has challenged Hunny to a duel–but why?

The reason I’m rating this lower than I’ve rated this series in the past is because this volume was full of a lot of stuff I just didn’t care about. I can remember when Fruits Basket was concluding and I could barely keep my nose out of those. I was so hooked. Even though this manga has really stepped things up in the past few volumes, some of it is just not that interesting to me.

Tamaki’s grandmother is made of evil. Actually, pretty much his whole family is made of evil. I just wish I understood what was going on at all. That part of the story, which is supposed to be central to this volume, was really confusing. I feel very unsure about what’s going on, but I think I’m understanding enough to just continue with the next volume.

The Mori and Hunny duel was so pointless. I pretty much skimmed that part because I was really disinterested. Now the kiss between Haru and Tamaki? That, I can get into. I just wish Tamaki was a little more intelligent. He has way too much faith in the good natures of others. He doesn’t even realize it when he’s being tricked. I just want him to stand up for what he wants. Haruhi did. Come on, Tamaki! I’m counting on you!

 

Previous volumes in this series:
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4
Volume 5
Volume 6
Volume 7
Volume 8
Volume 9
Volume 10
Volume 11
Volume 12
Volume 13
Volume 14
Volume 15

Manga Monday is hosted by Alison Can Read

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for participating in MM! I’m skimming your review because I haven’t read Ouran High School Host Club yet and I really want to. Hopefully soon.

    Reply
    • Oh, I hope I didn’t ruin anything! My manga reviews tend to be more discussions of the events than an actual review. Overall, I really like Ouran. Every now and then, I find I’m disinterested in the silly parts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
