Fever by Joan Swan

Title: Fever
Author: Joan Swan
Series: Phoenix Rising #1
Publisher: Brava
Release Date: 3/1/2012
Length: 448 pages
Format: ARC
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Suspense
Challenges: N/A
Source: Good Choice Reading ARC Tours
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK
Rating: ★★★★★

When Dr. Alyssa Foster is taken hostage by a prison inmate, she knows she’s in deep trouble. Not just because Teague Creek is desperate for freedom, but because the moment his fingers brush against her skin, Alyssa feels a razor-sharp pang of need…

A man with a life sentence has nothing to lose. At least Teague doesn’t, until his escape plan develops a fatal flaw: Alyssa. On the run from both the law and deadly undercover operatives, he can only give her lies, but every heated kiss tells him the fire between them could be just as devastating as the flames that changed him forever…

This is definitely one of the better romances I’ve read, and I think it’s because it isn’t just a romance. There’s a lot more to the story than Teague and Alyssa’s relationship. Teague has a lot going on in his life, most of which is revealed later in the book, so I won’t ruin that for you. All of the events in his past and how they tie in to the present really give the book a thrilling premise.

It was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. At first, I was excited because it’s been a little while since I read a romance and I was kind of missing it. Then, once I got into the book, it was because the book itself is really gripping. The plot has enough small twists that it kept me interested and the heat between Teague and Alyssa really drew me in.

I also expected a lot of the book to focus on Teague’s “abilities,” and there was some focus on it, but it wasn’t big a part of everything as I first thought it would be. I actually liked that about it. The real focus was elsewhere and it made the book much more enjoyable. I thought this was going to be another paranormal romance and I was very plesantly surprised. It’s not really a paranormal romance, at all. It’s more like a romantic suspense novel. I’ve only read a couple of books in this sub-genre and I’ve really enjoyed them. Maybe I need to seek this genre out a little more.

Of course, I have to talk about the characters. I adored Teague. He’s all rough edges and bulk, but there’s a really wonderful person inside. He occassionally pulled at my heart strings. Alyssa was equally enjoyable, but for different reasons. She’s stubborn and determined and it worked so well. The two of them made a great team for this book. I was a little sad when it was over. I think I actually might buy this one when it comes out, despite the awful cover. I mean, really? It makes it look like some super trashy romance, when there’s actually a little more to it than that. I mean, I get that it’s appealing to romance readers, but sometimes I get sick of looking at chests…. sometimes.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yay! I am so happy you liked it! I started reading it, but didn’t get to finish before shipping to you. I cannot wait to get it back! I read the first 100 pages and was really enjoying it!

    Great Review!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,856 hits