Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Title: Hallowed
Author: Cynthia Hand
Series: Unearthly #2
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: 1/17/2012
Length: 416 pages
Format: ARC
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Paranormal
Challenges: N/A
Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | Kobo
Rating: ★★★★☆

For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she wasn’t prepared for the choice she had to make that day. And in the aftermath, she discovered that nothing about being part angel is as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play in a world that is both dangerous and beautiful, Clara struggles with a shocking revelation: Someone she loves will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Things start up about where they left off in Unearthly, but I had to reacquaint myself with the world to get into the story, so it took me a few chapters. Of course, the second I got a fill of Tucker, I warmed up to the book. Then, there’s just so much going on in Clara’s life. It was hard to stop reading and make myself go to sleep at night.

Clara’s such a great character. I was worried in the beginning about her relationship with Tucker. Don’t get me wrong, I love them. I just didn’t want it to become one of those obsessive romances that are often in YA novels. It didn’t get that far though. Fortunately, it just felt like first love as teen. There’s something very intense about it, but not desperate. It was a good dynamic. I was upset about the problems they were facing and I’m eager to see what will happen there in the next book. I’m Team Tucker all the way and I don’t like Christian complicating things. I still haven’t warmed up to Christian. I read some reviews where people said they started to like Christian more in this book, but I just didn’t get there. It’s not that I don’t like him. I’m just kind of indifferent. It was nice to have some new characters though. I also liked learning a little more about Samjeeza and the Black Wings.

There were some pretty intense revelations in this book that came along with the new characters. I think that’s why this book has gotten so much praise already. Sequels can sometimes fizzle, but this one really went to the next level. It just pumps me up for the next book.

Now, for the warning: this book is so sad. SUPER SAD. There are some really heartbreaking moments and if you’re an emotional reader, you might need some tissues. The good thing is that I was never totally overwhelmed by the sad events. I hate it when books depress me and never bring me out of that mode. There are definitely some things I’m not happy about, but I have faith that Cynthia Hand will take me to a new level again in the next book. Bravo! I’m ready for more!

I almost never quote books, but this one made me giggle:

I did get so wigged out that I sneaked out to his house a couple of times in the middle of the night to watch over him while he slept, just in case, I don’t know, his comic book collection decided to spontaneously combust. This was dumb and admittedly creepy in an Edward Cullen kind of way, but it was the only thing I could think to do.

Gotta love Clara!

 

Previous books in this series:
Unearthly

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
