The Christmas Wedding by James Patterson

Title: The Christmas Wedding
Authors: James Patterson and Richard DiLallo
Series: N/A
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Release Date: 10/17/2011
Length: 266 pages
Format: Hardcover
Genres: Fiction, Holiday/Christmas
Challenges: TBR Challenge
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | Kobo
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The tree is decorated, the cookies are baked, and the packages are wrapped, but the biggest celebration this Christmas is Gaby Summerhill’s wedding. Since her husband died three years ago, Gaby’s four children have drifted apart, each consumed by the turbulence of their own lives. They haven’t celebrated Christmas together since their father’s death, but when Gaby announces that she’s getting married–and that the groom will remain a secret until the wedding day–she may finally be able to bring them home for the holidays.

But the wedding isn’t Gaby’s only surprise–she has one more gift for her children, and it could change all their lives forever.

This book was sort of weird. Gaby was quirky so that made the book quirky, but it wasn’t exactly in a good way. It was just strange. Gaby’s life was a little too perfect and her kids had all these problems. Still, it was easy and cute sometimes so I think the three star rating is pretty deserved.

First of all, I really like Gaby. I think she’s kind of awesome, but she’s also totally insane to lead three guys on like that. I can’t believe they went along with it. I know they’re just like, “oh, that’s just how Gaby is,” but it bothered me that they let themselves be strung along knowing the probability that they could be turned down in the end. It seems a little far fetched to me. You’d think they’d be mad about it. Also, I just can’t see these tree guys sitting around ignoring the fact that they’re in love with her for so long. It’s just… weird.

Her kids were definitely the more interesting part, particularly Emily and Claire. Claire has this awful husband who she can never depend on for anything. The whole time I was thinking “why on earth are you with this guy?” It was hard to watch her bottle her unhappiness up the way she did. She says something about how that’s what Summerhill women do, but it just sounds unhealthy. Emily is dealing with some sexual harassment issues, and that seemed a little much too. I mean, I know that happens, but it’s a little more rare than it used to be because there are so many consequences. That was also a situation it was hard to swallow. I was just hoping these two women would wake up and realize that they can do something about their situations. The whole ordeal with her other daughter’s husband got to me. That kind of stuff kits close to home with my dad being sick. It’s so easy for me to get all choked up and sad when I’m reading stuff like that.

Overall, there were some parts I thought were well done. I think what I didn’t like was the overall tone of the book. It just didn’t work for me. It felt a little unorganized or something. It’s hard to explain. Anyway, I’d say read it if you think it sounds interesting, but maybe pick it up at the library.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
