In My Mailbox & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Hello beloved readers! I’ve had the busiest weekend ever so I haven’t much time to post. I’m going to consolidate my IMM and It’s Monday! posts. I promise I’ll be around to some of your blogs when I get some time to sit down.

http://www.thestorysiren.com/

For Review
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder (Penguin Audio)
Believing the Lie by Elizabeth George (Penguin Audio)
Lunatics by Dave Berry and Alan Zweibel (Penguin Audio)
Wayward Saints by Suzzy Roche (Voice)
Pantheons by E.J. Dabel (Sea Lion Books)
Hallowed by Cynthia Hand (Around the World ARC Tours)

Purchased
Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach
Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski
Bumped by Megan McCafferty
A Taste of Midnight by Lara Adrian

Won
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson (Simon & Schuster)

I also got Kobo gift cards and a gift card to 2nd and Charles. And…

a Kobo Vox (thanks Mom!). I love it. It’s awesome. Holy crap do I love Reading Life and Pulse. Those are the coolest features ever.

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/

Reviewed
Wake by Abria Mattina
Merry Christmas, Splat by Rob Scotton
Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, art by Maira Kalman
Love & Leftovers by Sarah Tregay
A Midsummer Night’s Sin by Kasey Michaels
Dating Mr. December by Phillipa Ashley
Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks (EARphoria)
The Woman in Black by Susan Hill (EARphoria)

Currently reading/listening to…

Hallowed
(Unearthly #2)
by Cynthia Hand

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

The Devil’s Elixir
(Templar #3)
by Raymond Khoury
read by Richard Farrone

What if there was an herb, previously lost to history in the jungles of Central America, capable of inducing an experience so momentous it might shake the very foundations of Western civilization?

What if powerful forces on both sides of the law got wind of that herb, and launched a violent, uncompromising pursuit to be the first to exploit it?

And what if FBI agent Sean Reilly and his girlfriend, Tess Chaykin, were, unknowingly, the only two people who could keep the lid on this existential Pandora’s box, one that’s capable of destabilizing the world?

I actually haven’t read any of the books in this series prior to this one, but I’ve had no trouble getting into the characters and story. In fact, I think I’ll go back and read the first two sometime.

Up Next…

Moonlight and Oranges by Elise Stephens
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder
I’ve actually already read a chapter of Moonlight and Oranges. It’s not quite what I was expecting, but I’m still excited. 
What are you reading?
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I really want to read the Probability of Miracles! It looks really really good! Happy Reading to you!http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2012/01/what-are-you-reading-monday-1.html

    Reply
  2. I can't wait to start reading The Probability of Miracles. The cover is gorgeous. I loved Ten Things We Did.I hope you do as much as I did. Enjoy your books!

    Reply
  3. The Woman in Black sounds interesting and creepy! I will have to read it!Have a great week!

    Reply
  4. Awesome IMM and the Kobo Vox looks cool. I have had a Kindle for a couple of years and got a generic tablet (which is what I asked for) for Christmas and I'm enjoying it so far. You received some books for review that I am wanting. And I have The Devil's Elixir on my tbr pile. I have read the first two books in the series and love Raymond Khoury. I hope you enjoy the book. I also bought some of the same books as you as well, but forgot to list my bought books on my IMM since they went straight to my ereader (out of sight, out of mind). I love an ereader 🙂 Enjoy your Vox.Here is my IMM.

    Reply
  5. You've got an awesome mom 🙂 Congrats on the new Kobo Vox!

    Reply
  6. I enjoyed the Steve Jobs book.

    Reply
  7. I've never heard of Kobo. Is it another brand of ereaders?I just read a review of The Probability of Miracles on The Book Muncher this morning. It looks good!

    Reply
  8. You have some great looking books here! Happy New Year!!!

    Reply
  9. I want to read Stupid Fast, too. I've ordered it but it hasn't arrived yet.

    Reply
  10. How fun. What a great haul!I love the blog name, btw.Laura @ The Traveling Owl

    Reply
  11. Thanks! Owls seem to be getting a little popular in the book blogging world.

    Reply
  12. Yep. I did a lot of debating last year before I bought my ereader and settles on Kobo because they use ePubs. That way, if I decided I wanted to switch later, I could take my books with me. So far, I've been loving them. I had the regular wireless one until I got the new on for Christmas and I couldn't be happier with it. Here's the site if you want to check it out.http://kobo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
