Dating Mr. December by Phillipa Ashley

Title: Dating Mr. December
Author: Phillipa Ashley
Series: N/A
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Release Date: 11/1/2010
Length: 294 pages
Format: ePub
Genres: Fiction, Chick-Lit, Contemporary, Romance
Challenges: 2011 E-book Challenge
Source: Free read at Kobo
Purchase: Paperback | Kindle | NOOK | ePub
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

When a nice girl asks twelve men to get naked, it’s sure to cause a scandal…

Emma Tremayne leaves her high-powered PR job and moves to the Lake District looking for peace, quiet-and celibacy. So perhaps it’s not the best idea when, in the spirit of “community-mindedness,” she agrees to help the local mountain rescue team fund raise by putting together a “tasteful” nude calendar. Especially since quite a lot of the community seems to mind what she’s up to-including the tall, dark and handsome Mr. December, Will Tennant, who appears to have gotten the wrong impression about Emma’s intentions. So how does she convince him that he’s more than just the flavor of the month?

I can’t remember exactly how I got my hands on this. I think it was really cheap on Kobo or something. I’ve had it for a while though and I was waiting until Christmas time to give it a read. I had some other things ahead of it, so I didn’t get to finish it until after Christmas, but it’s really not a Christmas book so it doesn’t matter. With that in mind, can I just say that the cover kind of sucks. It makes it look like there’s a Christmas theme… which there’s not.

For a short contemporary romance, this turned out to be a pretty cute book. If there’s something I can respect about good romance authors, it’s their ability to make a three days of sex feel like true love. Unfortunately, this book felt backwards. It felt like it occurred within three days, but it was more like three months time. The whole falling in love part felt really rushed. It’s like he batted his eyes at her and she was in love. There was no real development to it, and I blame that on the length. I think if the book were a little longer with some character and romance development it could easily have gotten a better rating.

I liked the characters enough to finish, but I thought they were a little lacking in depth. Will was charming, if a little arrogant. He was also indecisive and scared of commitment, which are things I find unattractive. It took away from his character a little bit. I liked him better once he got his shit together. I never became very fond of Emma. She was a gossip and judgmental. I would never make assumptions about a persons past if I didn’t really know any details, especially their romantic past. There’s just so much you don’t know about relationships when you’re in them. I think what actually kept me reading was my own curiosity about what happened in Will’s past to make him who he was.

It was okay, but not what I was expecting. I was thinking it would be a short, sexy romance with little else involved. It turned out to be a short contemporary romance with little sexual content. I did read that it was made into a Lifetime movie though. I might check it out. It definitely has the Lifetime Movie Network feel so I might like it better in movie form.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
