TGIF: First & Last

http://www.greadsbooks.com/

First & Last: What was the first book you read in 2011 and the last you finished in 2011? How do you feel about these books? Would you recommend them to other readers?

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


I enjoy reading classic literature sometimes and I remember liking this one a good bit when I first listened to it, but thinking back I’m not sure. I remember zoning out during some parts. I spent most of the time trying to match up the book version with the movie version I saw a kid. I think they’re actually pretty close, but I haven’t seen it since then so I could be wrong. One thing I really did love was that Josephine Bailey read this. I loved her when I listened to the Gemma Doyle series. I think she was pretty perfect for this audiobook. I’m not quite sure if I would recommend it. I think it would be pretty good for anyone who enjoys classics, but I would never recommend to someone as their first dip into classic novels.

Dating Mr. December by Phillipa Ashley


I thought this would be a nice Christmas themed book to read before bed while I was on m trip. It’s not really Christmas themed though. The only things that have to do with Christmas are the fact that she’s wearing a Santa hat on the cover and the fact that it’s almost Christmas at the end, which is only mentioned off hand. I probably wouldn’t recommend it because there’s just better chick-lit out there. There’s probably even another book with the same basic plot out there somewhere. I didn’t really like the characters and the “i love yous” came too quickly. They’re relationship never really developed.

Looks like I started and ended weakly. Oh well! There’s always next year, and I’ve gotten a little pickier now.

By the way, I’m back! It was fun. I hiked up a two mountains to see six castles (we saw 9 castles in all). I’ll post a few pictures sometime, and I’ll link to all of them when I get a chance to go through them. We’re giving out house to my brother and his enormous family and we’re moving into my Grandmother’s old house since it’s just my parents and I now. They’ve been working like dogs since I’ve been gone: repainting rooms, putting down hardwood floors, adding a room onto the house for Ben (so thoughtful of them), buying new furniture. It’s crazy. We’re hoping to start moving in by Saturday so most of my time will be spent doing that.

The last month on the blog…
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Although your books weren't the best – it sounds like you ended the year with a fun trip 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sounds like you had a rocking trip. Castles!!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Aww, well, as you said, there's always 2012. It's going to be a year of GREAT books, I'm sure.And your trip sounds absolutely amazing!

    Reply
  4. Thanks to you all for stopping by! I'll come visit your posts soon. I'm still moving.

    Reply
  5. Wow! Happy new years. My first book was Last Sacrifice, by Richelle Mead. The last book that completed by reading goal was Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead and the last book I read in 2011 was We'll Always Have Summer, by Jenny Han. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
