Where She Went by Gayle Forman (audio remix)

Title: Where She Went
Author: Gayle Forman
Narrator: Dan Bittner
Series: If I Stay #2
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Release Date: 4/5/2011
Length: 5 hours, 21 minutes
Format: Unabridged Audio CDs
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult
Challenges: 2011 Audiobook Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Audio CD | Digital Audiobook
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s been three years since the devastating accident… three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is L.A. tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock-star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

I loved this book when I read as an ARC early this year and I decided then that I would eventually listen to the audio, as well.I listened to If I Stay on audio and really enjoyed it. I knew this one would be a different narrator, but I really longed to hear a real male voice to link to Adam. Dan Bittner was perfect. His voice just fit Adam’s character. I thought he did an incredible job with all of it. His voice for Mia worked well. His fluency and the delivery of the dialogue was all just perfect. It couldn’t have been better. So bravo, Dan!

I think things could have ended with the last book, but I’m so glad they didn’t. This book carries a true finality. I needed to know how things worked out for Adam and Mia for certain. I didn’t want to leave it to my imagination. Besides, what Gayle wrote is much better than anything my imagination could have come up with. I think that’s why I’m not an author. I love happy perfection too much. I would never be able to write about pain the way authors can.I already know Mia has gone through pain. Adam has too, but nothing like the pain I see in him in Where She Went. They’ve both had a hard time, but they’ve both also had triumphs and the whole thing is just written so beautifully that it almost makes me speechless.

I loved Mia’s story in the first book. I felt for her and cried with her and totally fell for Adam with her. This time it was Adam’s turn. I felt for him and what happened to him. I felt sorry for him for what he’s become because of it. But I still loved him. There’s something so wonderfully gritty about Adam. He feels so real. He doesn’t bullshit. It makes it so easy to connect with his character. I think Gayle’s character development is superb and I hope she’ll write more so I can fall in love with all those characters too.

I’m not sure what else I can say. This book is wonderful because of it’s characters. This audiobook is wonderful because of Dan Bittner and the wonderful people at Penguin Audio. I do hope you’ll pick this one up and give it a listen (even if you’ve already read it). It’s terrific. I know I’ll come back to it many times in my life.

 

Read my original review here.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sounds great. Thanks for the review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
