As I Wake by Elizabeth Scott

Title: As I Wake
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Series: N/A
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: 9/15/2011
Length: 269 pages
Format: Paperback ARC
Genres: Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult
Challenges: N/A
Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | ePub
Rating: ★★★☆☆

 

Ava is welcomed home from the hospital by a doting mother, lively friends, and a crush finally beginning to show interest. There’s only one problem: Ava can’t remember any of them – and can’t shake the eerie feeling that she’s not who they say she is.

Ava struggles to break through her amnesiac haze as she goes through the motions of high-school life, but the memories that surface take place in a very different world, where Ava and familiar-faced friends are under constant scrutiny and no one can be trusted. Ava doesn’t know what to make of these visions, or of the boy who is at the center of them all, until he reappears in her life and offers answers . . . but only in exchange for her trust.

The unfortunate thing about this book is that most of it was really good. I was completely sucked into it from page one and I could hardly tear myself away from it to return to daily life. Then, toward the end things just fizzled. I tried to find that pull it had at first, but it was gone. I had hope it would come back for a little while, but it didn’t. There were a couple of WTF moments at the end that really threw things off for me. What could have been a five star book turned into a three star book because of that. I don’t think any of this was due to some prior expectations I had. I couldn’t even remember what the book was about when I started it, but the story itself instilled some expectations, and it didn’t meet them.

That being said, this is still a pretty good book. There were some elements I really loved. I liked Ava, though she was pretty much the only character. I never felt like I knew enough about Morgan. He was just there and I was supposed to swoon or something, but it doesn’t work that way. There was a hint that Ava knew him more than was shown, but that’s just not enough for me. Really, most of the characters were that way. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the romance. While the super girly part of me was all about love, the rational part of me saw the relationship for what it was: a little obsessive. There are circumstances in Ava’s life that could easily make someone feel that “I’ll die without you” kind of love, but I don’t think that’s healthy in any circumstances. There are a couple of other things about it that bothered me, but I don’t want to give anything away.

What I loved was the plot itself. The whole idea of Ava waking up with no memory of who she is or where she is, then remembering things from a life she’s not supposed to know about. That whole idea is really cool. There were some awesome twists and turns and I really enjoyed those. I never could have seen some of that coming. That was a huge surprise and it was so cool! I just wish the rest of the book would have lived up to some of its awesomeness. I also wish it would have explored more with some of Ava’s friends. That part of the story was interesting and it was touched on, but never quite to the extent I was hoping for. It’s worth the read, but maybe pick it up at the library.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
