I give up: Wolfsbane

So, I rarely just give up on books. I usually just stick it out to the end. It’s happened a couple of times though. Every now and then I just can’t make myself read (or listen to, in this case) a book. Back in May or June, I got an ARC of this book from Around the World ARC Tours. I started reading it. In one week, I never got past the first chapter. I thought maybe I would just try to listen to it on audio. Besides, I listened to the first one on audio. For once, my disinterest had nothing to do with the narrator. I think Rebecca Lowman was doing a terrific job. I just… don’t like this story. I’m not particularly fond of Calla. She kind of annoys me. The only character I even like is Shay and he can be a jerk sometimes. But it’s not even the characters that turn me off. It’s the whole premise. It sounds like such a cool idea, but it’s just too complicated. The way it’s presented just keeps me from getting into it. The dialogue in the beginning when the Searchers are explaining things to Calla and Shay is just painful. I wanted to scream or strangle everyone. I just needed something to happen and when it did, I was already sick of listening. I just decided this series isn’t for me.

Did anyone else have trouble with this book? Anyone love it and think I’m crazy?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You are not crazy. You can never be crazy for stating your opinion! And in this case, I DO agree with you, though I did manage to finish this book. I really enjoyed the first one, but this one fell short for me. In the first, Ren is the bad boy and here he is non-existent. In the first, Shay is the opinionated, smart, "other" guy and here he turns into a jerk that I didn't really care about. And whereas I thought Calla was a strong character in the first book, I found her weak here merely because of her indecision about who to choose: Ren or Shay. And even when she seems to choose, she's still unsure. I think the love triangle is what messes this book up. Calla just needs to stay alone and figure HERSELF out first. Still, I wasn't ready to give up on the series, and I have great hope everything will make more sense in BLOODROSE. I will just have to see. I totally understand why you stopped listening to this book though.AmberThe Musings of ALMYBNENR

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
