Catching Jordan

Catching Jordan
by Miranda Kenneally
Release Date: December 1, 2011
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
288 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there’s a new guy in town who threatens her starting position… suddenly she’s hoping he’ll see her as more than just a teammate.

This book was cute, but not at the same time. There were some things that I thought made it as cute as some of Sarah Dessen’s books. Then, there’s all the sex. I mean, I went to public high school. I know people have sex a lot and drink and do dumb things, like mud riding. Still, I can’t imagine all those cheerleaders being okay with how much the football players sleep around with all of them. That part took away from the cuteness.

I just love Jordan though, and her best friend Sam Henry. They’re awesome. They have such an easy relationship and fun to watch them together. I liked Ty (he’s the new guy) as well. He was a little controlling, but I think that was something he was working through. He’s definitely in a tough situation.

It wasn’t what I expected. I thought it was going to be about this girl being like one of the guys until the new guy comes along and they fall for each other. And it was at the beginning. There was just a lot thrown in there. She’s dealing with a strained relationship with her dad. She’s having trouble getting colleges to take her seriously at a football player. She’s realizing she can actually be friends with girls, not just the guys on the team. And she’s opening her eyes to how her friends really feel about her, especially Henry.

The characters are great. The plot is pretty engaging, though a little frustrating. I always get frustrated with books like this, where it takes forever for the right people to realize they’re good together. I did think Jordan was a little irresponsible about how she handled some of it though. Henry and Ty were downright annoying about the way they handled things. But the ending and the utter cuteness of some of it really brought it all together for me. It’s a fun, easy read and I highly recommend picking it up when it comes out.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://mirandakenneally.com/
Purchase this book: Sourcebooks | Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I've wanted to read this book for so long now!I can't wait to read this one! Great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
