Scaredy-Cat, Splat!

Scaredy-Cat, Splat!
by Rob Scotton
Published 2010 by HarperCollins
40 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 5/5

It’s Halloween, and Splat is determined to be the scariest cat in the class. Unfortunately he’s just too much of a scaredy-cat. He’s afraid of a little spider, and everyone says his costume looks more silly than scary. And when Mrs. Wimpydimple tells a ghost story in the dark, Splat gets so frightened that he tips over his jack-o’-lantern. But when the lights go back on, the entire class is scared silly by a small, black, furry creature with a big pumpkin head. Whooooo can it be?

Okay, so Halloween is long over and we’re gearing up for the next holiday. Still, I had to go ahead and read this (along with every other Splat the Cat book). Rob Scotton does not disappoint. This book was precious. I was expecting Splat to be afraid of something, but this was even better. His mom comes up with the perfect DIY spider costume and I love his scary spider face. I still have a few more Splat the Cat books to read, but this is already one of those characters I’ll want to share with my children when I have them.

I highly recommend this for your young ones. I forgot to look at the age range before I returned it to the library, but I think that all of the Splat the Cat books would be good for beginning readers and bed time stories.

Source: Library
Author’s website: http://www.robscotton.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
