Author Interview: Michael Baron

I’d like to welcome Michael Baron to the blog! Michael is a native of New York. He began writing nonfiction, but always had a love for fiction and eventually began writing that. Michael is a loving husband and father. His romances are inspired by his wife and his novel When You Went Away is about what it is to be a father. You can learn a little more about Michael and his books by visiting his website here: http://www.michaelbaronbooks.com/

Anything is Michael’s latest book and is a romance about how much a man will do for the woman he loves. You can read a plot synopsis and excerpt here: http://www.michaelbaronbooks.com/Michael_Baron_site/Anything.html

On to the questions!

When and why did you start writing?

I actually wrote my first novel when I was a teenager, and it was a love story. Unfortunately, it was the kind of love story a teenaged boy would write, and it has thankfully been lost to time. However, it did give me a feel for fiction and for the kinds of stories I wanted to tell. For the longest time after that, though, my focus was on nonfiction writing. I’d been publishing books for quite a while before I turned to fiction again with my novel When You Went Away. I never forgot my love for writing fiction, but financial priorities demanded that I focus elsewhere. I’m so glad I’ve finally gotten back to it, and I’ve done so with a passion.

What inspired you to write Anything?

You hear romantic partners saying, “I would do anything for you,” all the time. I thought, Really? Anything? This novel started as a thought exercise and quickly gained a life of its own. I wanted to put the main character in a situation where he had to decide if he was willing to make his fiancee’s life better, even if it meant removing himself from her life.

Did you find any part of writing Anything particularly challenging?

Anything is my first novel in which fantasy plays a major role (though there’s a bit of that in The Journey Home). The biggest challenge there was working it into the story without having it overwhelm the stories. All of my novels are about the characters, and I never want the mechanics to get in the way. Fortunately, I really liked Stephon, the magical character, so that made the fantasy portions more natural for me to write.

Is there a certain message you want your readers to grasp?

Ultimately, this is a novel about commitment. Is love worth risking everything for?

Did you learn anything from writing Anything?

The thing I learn with every novel is how much more I need to learn. I added an extra layer to this story (the fantasy element), and that required me to reinvent the characters mid-stream. It was a tremendous amount of fun, but I didn’t realize I needed to develop that skill until the story called for it. I’m facing the same situation with my new novel, where I need to keep an identity secret until the end of the story. Again, this requires using tools I haven’t used before. It certainly keeps things interesting.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Write what matters to you. Readers demand honesty from writers. I find I can only write honestly when I have a strong emotional connection to what I’m writing. I’m guessing it is the same for most writers.

Thank you, Michael, for stopping by to talk about your amazing book! Come back tomorrow for a review.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,449 hits
