TGIF

http://www.greadsbooks.com/

This is my first time to participate in TGIF. I always like the questions so I decided it’s about time I joined in.

Like most, the book that got me into paranormal books in the first place was Twilight. Though it no longer remains my favorite of the genre, it will always hold a special place in my heart for opening me up to not only the paranormal romance, but also YA. Because of this book, I came to later read and adore Clockwork Angel, Holly Black’s Curse Workers series, Unearthly, The Vespertine, the Sookie Stackhouse books, and the Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy.

Wuthering Heights quickly became a favorite when I read it. It also opened me up to reading Jane Austen and later Bronte’s Jane Eyre (my absolute favorite book ever). There’s something about classic literature like this that I just love. That time speaks to me in a way that others just don’t, and who could write it better than the women that were living in it?

Yes! Twilight is back. When I first got Twilight: The Graphic Novel, I was absolutely blown away. The art is just so beautiful! I immediately wanted more. I needed to read more comics, specifically with Japanese art. That’s when I checked out some manga volumes from the library like Fruits Basket and Sand Chronicles. It’s a weird place for the interest to root itself since that graphic novel isn’t really manga, but that’s how it happened.

The Jessica Darling series will always have a very special place in my heart and I really need to buy the books so I can read them a million times. This series is what opened me up to contemporary novels and later led me to read Sarah Dessen, whom I adore!

The Hunger Games are surely on a lot of lists today. This is the first dystopian novel I ever read. Well, actually the first one I read was The Giver in eighth grade, but I had no idea what dystopian meant then. Anyway, this book opened the flood gate for the dystopian craze to follow and it’s outrageous how many books are on my TBR because of that. Still, of the ones I’ve read this trilogy remains at the top of the food chain for its pure epicness. I mean, I got my brother into these books, and now he’s more excited about the movie than I am. That’s pretty much a miracle.

A Touch of Greek was the first book to ever get me into romance, which is actually kind of unusual considering it leans more toward the erotic side of romance novels. You’d think I would ease into the genre, but I went head first. It’s okay though because I fell in love and now it’s a favorite alongside Moning’s Highlander series and Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series (plus a few other fun books I’ve read along the way).

So audiobooks aren’t really a genre, but they’re definitely different from print and e-books. After I listened to the entire Harry Potter series, in a span of two weeks or something like that, I was in love with audio. It remains one of my favorite ways to read and I’ve enjoyed several favorites via audio: White Cat, Moning’s Highlander series, The Sky is Everywhere, Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series, and The Night Circus.

Those are all my gateway books. It kind of looks like a lot, actually.

This week at Owl Tell You About It:
In My Mailbox
It’s Monday! What are you reading?
Bout of Books Wrap-up
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer Review
Special A, Volume 2 Review
The Iron Knight Review

Leave a link so I can come visit you!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Happy Friday! 🙂 I have the Hunger Games on my list as well – they really made me want to read more dystopian books 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have Hunger Games on my list but as the book that helped me realise dystopian is not for me.

    Reply
  3. I love the cover of the Jane Eyre book!!! CUTE!Angie

    Reply
  4. I love Wuthering Heights!! And Jim Dale and Harry Potter definitely were the gateway for me and audio as well!!♥ Melissa @ Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
