Special A, Volume 2

Special A
(Volume #2)
by Maki Minami
Published 2008 by VIZ Media
208 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 3/5

Hikari and Kei are pitted against a pair of professional wresters in a challenge issued by the student council. Hikari may now be on the same team as Kei, but a rival is still a rival!

Still cute, though I was a little bored. I was put off by the Student Council President. I know he’s supposed to be funny in that quirky manga way, but I just found him annoying. Sometimes Japanese humor is beyond me. Still, I like the way things are going with Hikari and Kei. It’s so painfully obvious that Kei is in love with her Of course, Hikari doesn’t notice, which is typical of shoujo manga. I’m sure it will be that way for while. It always is (like in Fruits Basket and Ouran High School Host Club). I’m still willing to see it through though.

There was one chapter that caught my attention. I struggled through the beginning of the volume, but the middle chapter was awesome. Kei takes Hikari to the birthday of a childhood acquaintance, Yahiro. Yahiro is kind of an ass and likes to taunt Kei. Hikari finds out that Yahiro once beat Kei at a game by playing dirty. It kind of shakes things up for her because she’s spent most of her life trying to best Kei. He’s pretty much invincible in her eyes. Now, suddenly he comes across a little vulnerable. He can be defeated (by someone, at least). It’s a difficult thing for her to swallow. It will definitely be interesting to see how Yahiro’s part in the series will play out. Especially since he seemed to be flirting with Hikari (probably to make Kei mad).

Pretty good. I’m going to stick with it, for now.

Source: Purchased
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
