The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
(Mara Dyer #1)
by Michelle Hodkin
Published 2011 by Simon & Schuster
452 pages. ARC.
Rating: 5/5

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

I am floored. This book was so amazing. I kept hearing amazing things about this book, but I can be so wary of hype. I thought to myself, “it can’t be that good.” Well, it is. This book is wonderful and totally captivating. I need the next one now, please!

I LOVE Mara’s voice. It’s the first thing that drew me in. She has this quirky, dark sense of humor about everything that’s happening to her and it makes the book read well. Within the first few chapters her personality just had me. I loved the dialogue with her. She’s just a great character. Very likable. Her family are likable too, specifically her brothers. There’s not a lot about her parents. Most of the insight on them is given through Mara’s complaints about her hovering mother. Noah was a bit more mysterious. Like Mara, it took me a while to trust him, but he is so much more than he seems in the beginning. I love that about him.

Great characters are always a big deal for me, but that’s not all this book has. The plot is riveting. I mean, I couldn’t stop reading if I wanted to. It’s one of those books that’s bad for me to read at work because I don’t want to be interrupted. I end up staring daggers at anyone who walks by the reception desk and asks me how I’m doing. How dare they interrupt this thrilling book! It’s such a well rounded book: good characters, thrilling plot, engaging writing. It’s everything I could ask for. But damn those cliff hangers!

I highly recommend this book. Seriously, if you’re one of the five people that hasn’t picked it up, do it! You will not regret it. I even had to go buy myself a copy for my bookshelf.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://michellehodkin.blogspot.com/
Purchase this book: Simon & Schuster | Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. YES! I loved this book. So creepy and captivating. I don't remember a time that I wasn't completely enthralled with this story. I totally fell in love with Noah too. His character was the perfect mixture of cocky and sweet. Kristan @ Lost Amongst the Shelves

    Reply
  2. Oh, yes. Major love for Noah!

    Reply
  3. I have been curious about this book for a while. I am glad you enjoyed it so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,449 hits
