24 Hour Read-A-Thon

http://24hourreadathon.com/

Progress Updates
Currently: The Darkest Kiss by Gena Showalter (audio)
Books Completed: 2
Pages Read: 51
Hours Listened: 12
last updated 6:34 AM
Hour 1: Introduction 
And we’re off! I am actually doing my reading right this moment. I’m listening to Age of Wonder by Richard Holmes, which I’ve been listening to for WEEKS! In my defense, it’s about 22 hours long and I was sitting at the receptionist desk for a whole week which cut out most of my audio listening time. I’m hoping that maybe I can get it finished today. I only have five hours left so I could definitely pull that off throughout the day.
Here’s the introduction meme:

1)Where are you reading from today?
2)Three random facts about me…
3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

1) I’m read at my house! Mostly on my little green chair that sits next to my TBR book case. Yes, yes there is a book case in my room dedicated to books I have not read. I have a serious book buying problem. EDIT: After reading other posts I decided I’m a ditz. I’m in a rural town just outside Birmingham, Alabama.

2) I have a degree in voice performance I probably won’t use often, but I can sing you some Bach, Mozart, or Debussy any day. I’m also a mediocre clarinet player. I LOVE vintage clothes and style, and I wish there were better vintage clothing stores in Birmingham.

3) I have four books in my TBR for sure. I didn’t want to make a huge pile because I was afraid I would finish any of them or something. So it’s the last five hours of an audiobook, two books, and at least one manga.

4) Not really. I want to feel like I’ve gotten something done so I’ll just play it by ear.

5) If you need a break/nap/coffee, do it! Otherwise, you’ll fall asleep on your book and wake up four hours later thinking “Damn! I missed the readathon!”

Time for coffee. But I’ll still be reading because audiobooks are awesome!

Hour 2: Character Pictures Challenge hosted by At Home With Books

I’m still listening to Age of Wonder. My photo represents William Herschel, who discovered Uranus. The section on him was one of my favorites in the book.

Hour 3: Book Puzzle Challenge hosted by One Librarian’s Book Reviews

Still listening to Age of Wonder, but I’m going to take a break from it soon to read a the second volume of Special A by Maki Minami. I loved this challenge and it took me a while to decide which book title I wanted to use. It’s not very hard, but see if you know what it is.

And just because I think this challenge is cool….

Do you know what the titles are?

Hour 4: State Settings Challenge hosted by The Avid Reader’s Musings

Still listening! But it has allowed me to follow the twitter feed a little and look at others’ challenge posts. Anyway, it’s progress! When it’s over and I start actually reading I’ll disappear for a while. Anyway, here’s the next challenge.

1. Looking for Alaska by John Green is set in Alabama at a boarding school that is based on Indian Spring School (where he went to high school), which is just outside Birmingham. Since I live around Birmingham, I got a lot of the references to the area (like all the references to the rich kids in Mountain Brook). He does a great job capturing the feel of the South and particularly Birmingham.

2. Coming Up for Air by Patti Callahan Henry is set in Atlanta and South Alabama. Again, she’s from around these parts so she really gets it. I thought she did a terrific job capturing the personality of the South and the characters you’ll find there. There’s also a little Civil Right history in there.

3. Shine by Lauren Myracle is the best book I’ve ever read about a small Southern town because it’s so spot-on. I’ve never actually been to this town, and I’m not sure if it’s true. However, I have been to small towns in North Carolina and I live in a town very like the one in the book (except it’s in Alabama). I felt like some of the characters in her book went to high school with me.

Hour 5: Share a Book Challenge hosted by Just One More Thing…

We all love to read. And we all love to tell everyone about the great books we come across. We share our ideas about books daily through our blogs. But do we share our books? I do! I’ve become a little bit of a go-to person for those who are looking for something to read. I let people borrow my books (or give force them to borrow them) all the time. And ARCs? Those go straight to the break room at work as soon as I’ve read and reviewed them. The women in my office love to read so we’re always trading books, recommending books, borrowing books. When it comes to books I love to share!

So that whole business about taking a break from my audio book didn’t happen. I’m just going to finish it before I open something else.

Hour 6: Top 5 Challenge hosted by Lisa’s World of Books

 

I’m going to read The Iron Knight today after I’m finished with my audiobook and grab a shower and some lunch. I have ARC copies of both In the Forests of the Night and A Midsummer Night’s Sin, but I’m still waiting out Crossed and Clockwork Prince. So excited about all of these!

Hour 7: I finished a book!

I’m not participating in the challenge this time because I have no clue who any of those authors are or who they are pseudonyms for… and I don’t want to cheat by using Google. Anyway, I FINISHED MY AUDIO BOOK! This is a serious celebration, not because I finished something in the readathon, but because I finished that book. It was like 20 hours long. It’s taken me weeks. WEEKS! Congrats, Mr. Holmes, you can write a long-ass book. In all seriousness, it was very good.

Now for a shower, food, and a break. Then, I’ll move onto a little manga volume before I tackle The Iron Knight. So excited! I’m Team Ash all the way! But I still love Puck’s humor. See you all next hour!



Hour 8: Music Bath Challenge hosted by White Ink Drops

Well, I’m clean and fed, but I might make a trip out into town to pick up a few things: snacks, some household things I need and some soda. I need a soda so bad! I haven’t read anything yet, but I am listening to my second audio book while I’m updating. It’s The Darkest Night by Gena Showalter. Anyway, here’s the challenge!

What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
What song does my favorite book remind me of?
Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

The Darkest Night sort of reminds me of “Fresh Blood” by Eels for some reason.

I have no clue about the second one. My favorite book is Jane Eyre and it’s a little removed from music for me. But I think some German lieder would be appropriate. So, here you go! Gotta love Clara!

Hmm… I’m not sure about the last one either. I really love “I Found a Boy” by Adele, but I’m not totally sure what it would go with. Maybe the end of Around the World in Stilettos. I think it kind of fits with what’s going on at that point.

Hope you all enjoy that music! I better stop listening before I listen to the entire Adele album and forget to read!

Hour 9: Still Listening!

Yes I got super distracted from reading a physical book because my audiobook got REALLY interesting. And by interesting, I mean totally hot. I’ll get to my other stuff in a little while! I’m too busy with Maddox. No challenge for me because I don’t even want to stop listening long enough to do that.

Hour 10: I read a little of an actual book! 

So… I’m too busy with my books to want to do the mini-challenges right now. Maybe I’ll take a break later and do them. I read a chapter of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer although it was only four pages, but still. I’m going to listen to my audio book while I run out to do some errands, then I’ll get back to reading that book. I can already tell I’ll love it. Hope all is going well for you!

Hour 11: Book Trailer Challenge hosted by Quirky Girls Read

Here’s my trailer: Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter I don’t think it’s official or anything, but it’s a really good trailer.

In other news, I’ll be listening to that until 6:15. That’s when the Alabama game comes on, so I’ll spend that time watching the game and reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer during the commercials. It will definitely slow me down, but I can’t miss my football game. That’s all for now!

Hour 12: The Half Way Hour!

So it’s not exactly the half way point yet since it’s just the beginning of this hour, but whatever. I have n’t had any trouble at all, but that’s mostly because I’ve been listening rather than reading. That is about to stop! Football is coming on and I am crazy crazy CRAZY about the Alabama Crimson Tide. There have been too many updates without picture so I’m going to include one that epitomizes my feelings right now… except I’m not mad like that elephant. You can’t deny that that’s one intimidating elephant. So, the link for the challenge isn’t working so I guess I’ll see about that later. For now, ROLL TIDE! And happy reading.



Hour 13: Mid-Event Survey


I’m VERY distracted. I’m only gotten through nine pages of my manga volume in the past 45 minutes. Oops! Good news is that the game going by pretty quickly. If Bama was doing better it might not be so bad, but things are so not going well so I’m glued to the television. In other news, a pizza sounds amazing so I just ordered one. Yummy!

1. What are you reading right now?
2. How many books have you read so far?
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?
9. Are you getting tired yet?
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?

1. I’m reading the second volume of Special A by Maki Minami, but mostly I’m watching football.
2. I’ve FINISHED one book. I’m taking a break from my second audio book to watch football. So I’m hoping to finish that after the game. Surely, I can get through this manga volume during the game.
3. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer if I can get to it! I know I won’t finish it, but we’ll see how far I get.
4. Nope! Just stayed home, locked up in my room.
5. No interruptions until this game came on. Curse my love of football!
6. All the people participating! There’s so many!
7. Not really. It’s great the way it is. I think a couple of the challenges were involved and cut into reading time so I skipped them, but that’s it. I wouldn’t know what to do instead.
8. Not like football? Probably plan to get through audio books mostly. I had my sights set on some print books I have, but Twitter is so distracting that I just ended up listening instead.
9. Nope!
10. I’m not sure what it is that’s working for me. Maybe the audio. That could definitely be it, but personally I think listening to audio is slower. It’s just easier to do other things at the same time.

Well, that’s it for now! I’ll be back soon!

Hour 14: Definitely “Pizza Time”

So it’s only been two hours of football. That’s not too bad of a break, right? I’m hoping to do the full 24 hours so maybe it won’t hurt me too bad. I’ll have to be ready for some coffee around midnight. I had some DELICIOUS pizza. Bama is doing so much better so I’m not so concerned that I’m freaking out, but McCarron is playing so well that I don’t want to miss anything. So I’m still not doing too well with my reading. I’ll get back into the readathon spirit after my football spirit is over. I promise!

I’ve already talked about my delicious pizza, but let me continue with more info on my snacking for the day for challenge hosted at Fancy Terrible. I had some yummy blueberry muffins this morning. I had some vanilla pudding a little later. I had a grilled hot dog for lunch. After someone mentioned pizza, I decided that was dinner. I guess I’ll be scrounging around for snacks between now and the end. I could have more muffins, I suppose. And coffee! Yum!

Hour 15: Friendship Challenge hosted at A World of Paper Hearts

So, I didn’t give this a ton of thought, but I recently listened to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and I just loved the friendship between Bailey and Poppet. I know it was a teensy bit romantic, but it was just so cute!

In other news, the football game is over, so I’ll be back to reading/listening. Maybe I’ll get something done for the first time in a while. I’ve been doing terrible with comments too. Sorry!

Hours 16-18: The first signs of sleepiness

It’s here! This is the difficult part. I took a much needed nap after dosing off repeatedly while trying to read my manga volume. After my nap, I stuck my headphones back in my ears. It might be audio from here on out. I’m thinking I won’t be able to stay awake otherwise. Besides, I’m really enjoying The Darkest Night and I think I need to go ahead and download the next book in the series because I’m about to become OBSESSED. Good thing I have two Audible credits waiting for me! Anyway, my goals now are to finish this audio book and finish my manga volume. We’ll see if I get to anything else before it’s over. Now, on to the challenges!

The rereading challenge is hosted at The Blue Stocking Society. My list isn’t necessarily of books I have reread, but books that I know I’ll reread, but I’ll start out with the ones I’ve actually reread.

1. I’ve reread Graceling once. It was a little weird because I listened to the audiobook the first time. It was Full Cast Audio so there was no “she said, he said” stuff. It was a little disconcerting at first to see all that. It changed the book a little, but I still love it!
2. I don’t know what it is about The Host bu I LOVE that book. I’ve reread it like four times or something. It’s so good! I know people that couldn’t get through it at all because it kind of long, but I love every second of that book.
3. I recently reread The Vespertine. It was right after the cover for The Springsweet was revealed. Such a good book!
4. I have yet to reread The Sky is Everywhere but I wanted to reread it immediately after I finished it the first time. That is such a good book. That needs to happen sometime soon.
5. The Night Circus is a really recent read so I haven’t reread it yet either, but I know that will happen at some point. I need to go back through it to savor it a little more. I’m sure whenever they get the movie stuff moving along, I’ll be compelled to pick it up for a reread.
6. I first read Jane Eyre earlier this year and it instantly became the best book I’ve ever read. I haven’t had the chance to reread it yet, but I’m planning to read it every year. I’m going to reread it for Christmas this year. And I’m going to read my beautiful illustrated version!

The song identity challenge is hosted at Taiwandering. Well, as some of you might know, I was a voice major in college. I wish I had the time or patience right now to make a video for you all. I would definitely sing you something. Since I don’t, I’ll tell you a little bit about John Jacob Niles and his music. Niles was a composer whose songs were inspired by and sometimes rooted in Appalachian folk songs. Birmingham is nestled in the very tail end of the Appalachian mountains so I suppose that’s my neck of the woods. Anyway, when I was a sophomore and junior I was obsessed with his music. I sang four of his songs on my recital. Here’s a video of him singing my favorite of his songs, “Go ‘Way From My Window.” Bob Dylan pops in at the end because the video is from the film “No Direction Home” about Bob Dylan (I own it and it’s awesome). I have an old vinyl of Joan Baez ballads and she sings it beautifully. Mr. Niles didn’t have the best voice. Anyway, it was one of the songs I sang on my recital. I LOVE IT!

That’s all for me for now. I’m going to get back to my audiobook and find some coffee.

Hours 19-20: I’m totally awake!

So, i’s like 2:30 here and I’m sooooo awake. It’s amazing. I’m just so into this book. It’s reached its climax and I couldn’t go to sleep if I tried. My mind would be reeling. I think I’ll be able to stick around for the long haul this year. Yay for no sleep!

I’m too excited about my book to do any challenges, but I just wanted to let you all know I’m still kicking. Hope you’re all still there too! If you’re falling asleep, here’s a present to perk up those eyes.

You’re welcome!

Hours 21-23: Finished Book #2!

Yes! I finished The Darkest Night by Gena Showalter. It was so awesome and extremely intense. I’m pretty hungry so I’m going to have a little peanut butter snack. I’ve already got the second book downloaded and on my iPod for my drive tomorrow. I hoping to spend the rest of the readathon reading print. We’ll see if I can pull it off. Just two more hours!

Hour 24: The End!


Well, I know this hour isn’t really over yet, but I won’t be finishing anything else. I’ve been listening to the second book in the Lord of the Underworld series, The Darkest Kiss. This was fun though! And I got some things done that I wouldn’t have otherwise. I do wish I read a little more physical books, but I enjoyed the audio better. It allowed me for flexibility throughout the day. Maybe I’ll just stick with that for this readathon in the future. Hopefully, I’ll do this again in the Spring. Here’s the end of the event meme!

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
5. How many books did you read?
6. What were the names of the books you read?
7. Which book did you enjoy most?
8. Which did you enjoy least?
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

1. This last hour was definitely the most daunting.
2. I got really into The Darkest Night. It had me totally awake at four in the morning. It was very intense.
3. Not really!
4. I loved the twitter interaction. That was a lot of fun.
5. I read/listened to four book, but only finished two.
6. Age of Wonder by Richard Holmes, The Darkest Night by Gena Showalter, The Darkest Kiss by Gena Showalter, and Special A (Volume #2) by Maki Minami
7. The Darkest Night
8. Special A. I just wasn’t in the mood for it, I think.
9. I wasn’t a cheerleader.
10. Very likely, as long as it works out with my schedule. I’ll be a reader again.

That’s all your getting from me tonight this morning. I’ll see you all sometime after I get some sleep and all that. It was fun!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. Haha, don't worry, I have a serious book buying problem too..Thanks for the tips :)Hope you'll have fun during the read-a-thon :)Vicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea

    Reply
  2. I love your piece of advice!! That happened to me last year. Well it wasn't a nap…i went to sleep. I'm trying to do better this time around.

    Reply
  3. Your mini challenge is so creative! Also, I love the owls on your site. My site has an owl in the banner too 🙂 I named him Harry.

    Reply
  4. Ooh! I never thought of naming them. There will be major name pondering after the read-a-thon.

    Reply
  5. I agree, audiobooks are AWESOME. Great picture for the challenge.

    Reply
  6. The second on is Iron Knight Right?

    Reply
  7. Haha.. Iron Knight..

    Reply
  8. Yep! The first one is actually a pretty popular YA book, but it more difficult to figure out.

    Reply
  9. Paper Towns! John Green is great. XDHappy read-a-thoning!

    Reply
  10. Yay! Someone got it! I love John Green.

    Reply
  11. Wonderful state choices! I love John Green too and I just went to Alabama for the very first time last week.

    Reply
  12. *Go, reader, go* I am here to cheer you on!!!! Don't forget to take a small break so you can keep on reading reading reading!

    Reply
  13. Nice choice of photo for the mini challenge! Thanks for participating!

    Reply
  14. I'm sure Mr. Richard Holmes appreciates your "enduring" the 20-hour audiobook, Laura. Maybe he'll even give you a prize. Another 20-hour audio book, perhaps? LOL JK. :DI'm excited to read your updates. In the mean time, tweet me anything on twitter: @travelingreadr. I don't do back rubs (impossible to do that while I'm overseas) nor cartwheels but I can give you the best cheering up ever. ;)Btw, Ladystorm and I belong to the same cheering team, #cheergolden.

    Reply
  15. I love that there are so many fellow musicians and singers participating in this.Paper Towns was one of my favorite books a couple of years ago.

    Reply
  16. Happy read-a-thon! And I love that you have a separate shelf for your TBRs. I have a tendency to do that with my books too 🙂

    Reply
  17. Wooow you're doing great! Hope you're having fun!

    Reply
  18. Paper Towns and Iron Knight! Fun puzzles. Thanks for playing.

    Reply
  19. John Green and readathons just seem to go together! You've done great so far. Jane Eyre and German lieder…why not?

    Reply
  20. I love the way you told where you were actually sitting in your house. When I answered the question, I said where I was from, but I also shared that I would be moving around the house. I think the actual SPOT is much more interesting, really. So I like your answer. 🙂 Also, YAY for audiobooks. I'm currently reading/listening to Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I think if more people would give them a chance, they'd fall in love with them like I am. Yay for readathoning!!! Go go go! ~Asheley @ Into the Hall of Books@BookwormAsheley

    Reply
  21. I, too, have a bookcase devoted to my TBR pile .. there are books piled on top (challenge books), two double-stacked shelves, and a bottom shelf devoted to review books – I hope that make you feel not so alone! :)You're doing GREAT! I love this too: "Damn! I missed the read-a-thon!" because this is what I did during the last one.This time, I took a mid-day nap, which will hopefully have me staying up later!Rah! Rah! Shish! Boom! Bah! Reading books will take you far!

    Reply
  22. We've got a lot in common, it seems! I like your song choice, but I won't lie: Joan does it better.Thanks for joining the discourse.

    Reply
  23. Keep going, we're almost there! Hope you are enjoying the audiobook!

    Reply
  24. Books are awesomeBooks are greatCongratulations on reading so muchYou’re first rate!(borrowed from Softdrink) APPLAUSE for all you accomplished this readathon.

    Reply
  25. For your re-read books, I agree that the Night Circus is a reread worthy book. Good job for the readathon

    Reply
  26. You did great! Congratulations!! Hope you had lots of fun! 🙂

    Reply
  27. Thanks everyone for all the comments! They warm my heart. It took me a few days to go through them all and visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
