Liesl & Po

Liesl & Po
by Lauren Oliver
illustrated by Kei Acedera
Published 2011 by HarperCollins
320 pages. ARC.
Rating: 4/5

Liesl lives in a tiny attic bedroom, locked away by her cruel stepmother. Her only friends are the shadows and the mice—until one night a ghost appears from the darkness. It is Po, who comes from the Other Side. Both Liesl and Po are lonely, but together they are less alone.

That same night, an alchemist’s apprentice, Will, bungles an important delivery. He accidentally switches a box containing the most powerful magic in the world with one containing something decidedly less remarkable

Will’s mistake has tremendous consequences for Liesl and Po, and it draws the three of them together on an extraordinary journey.

I was so excited about Lauren Oliver writing a children’s book and I had to get my hands on it after reading her first two books. The cover is so beautiful too! And have you seen the finished copy? The color images on the hard cover are just awesome. I bought it as soon as it came out and it’s sitting on my shelf with Lauren’s other books. I knew from reading the synopsis that I would adore this book, and I did. It didn’t quite blow me away like Delirium, but it was very good.

Liesl, Po, and Will stole my heart from their introductions. Liesl is so sweet, but also a very determined little girl. Po can have a temper, but he has been floating around as a ghost for quite some time. Maybe I should give him the benefit of the doubt. Besides, he does a lot for Liesl throughout the book. Will is just the cutest thing in the world. His unruly hair, his big ears, and soft-spoken demeanor warmed my heart. These children are impossible not to fall in love with. On the other hand, the adults (with the exception of Mo) are either evil or complete duds. I’m not complaining! They’re supposed to be that way. Adults are always boring and unimaginative in children’s books. The alchemist, Lady Premiere, and Augusta were terrible people! Rotten to the core. It was perfect for children’s villains. Complexity isn’t really something I expect from characters in kids’ fiction. The old woman from the train was kind of funny, in the annoying-old-lady-who-ruins-everything kind of way. Mo was really the only adult (aside from Liesl’s late father) who seemed like a decent person.

I liked the plot. The whole premise was intriguing and I got that nice tugging feeling you get when you need to know what’s going to happen. It did drag a little in the middle though. I had a hard time staying interested in for a little while in the second part. I will admit that most of my reading time was at night after work though. It could have just been because I was sleepy and couldn’t focus. Most of the time, if a book is interesting enough, I can stay up all night reading it. It really grabbed me toward the end. When I got to the climax, I was riveted. I just had to finish, and I love that feeling. I also loved the way everything was interconnected. All the little coincidences made even more fun to read. I could see kids getting into this book easily. I did think it was a little dark. It might not be good for super young kids because of that. All the murder plotting and stuff would have seemed pretty scary to me as a child. Then, I think about the fairytales I grew up with where the big, bad wolf ate Red Riding Hood’s grandmother or when the witch is planning to cook Hansel and Gretel. It suppose it no creepier than that.

I recommend this one. Pick it up for your little one. I think a girl might like it a little better than a boy, just because Liesl is the main character. Then again, Will’s character is also important, so boys might enjoy it just as much.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://www.laurenoliverbooks.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This looks like a pretty book! I have never read anything by the author, but I have been meaning to. Maybe I will be strange and start with this one…

    Reply
  2. I just got a copy of this in the mail yesterday – I'm so excited to read it!

    Reply
  3. That sounds really good!

    Reply
  4. It's so cute! I hope you all like it when/if you read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
