Half-Blood

Half-Blood
(Covenant #1)
by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publication Date: October 18, 2011
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
281 pages. ARC.
Rating: 5/5

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1: Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

SO FREAKING AWESOME! I’m so wary of paranormal these days because so much of it is overdone. It’s so nice when I find it well done. Ms. Armentrout’s new book is very, very well done. There’s so much action, awesome characters, the right mix of romance, and the world she’s created is amazing and more or less original. It’s this weird mix between Greek mythology and vampirism. Half-bloods (that’s the species of our kick ass heroine) are the children of mortals and the pure-blood descendents of the gods. They’re considered to be beneath the pure-bloods, and aren’t allowed to hold seats on the Council or have relationships with pure-bloods. They’re options are to train as Sentinels and become warriors, or become servants and spend their lives on a never ending high and feeling nothing. Except for the Appollyn, a half-blood who has the ability to wield the four elements (and an awesome fifth element). The pure-bloods can wield the elements, usually only one element. That means the Applloyn is more powerful than any of the pure-bloods and highly respected. Then there are daimons. Not quite sure how the race started, but they’re evil killing machines. They drain the life of pure-bloods (it’s called aether) and turn them into daimons. Half-bloods can see through daimon magic, and so are valuable for their ability to spot one. They’re also considered valuable because they can’t be turned. Does that not sound like the coolest thing you’ve ever heard?

If the whole premise weren’t cool enough, there’s the characters. Alex is so awesome. She’s tough and stubborn. She doesn’t back down or let people walk all over her, though that sometimes gets her into trouble. Aiden is strong and intense, but also caring. I really enjoyed the complexity of his character. He’s mature and knows when to keep his mouth shut, but he’s also full of so much life. Seth is… interesting. I haven’t quite made up my mind about him. He seems potentially dangerous. He’s definitely intriguing, though. Caleb,–Alex’s best friend–is more of a supporting role, but he’s just as great as the others. He makes for some dialogue and comic relief with Alex. I couldn’t help but love all of them, and I felt that way very early in the book.

There’s a great mixture of plot and character. It’s not all about one or the other. Alex goes through some nice development, and there’s always plenty of action. It hooked me quickly and I couldn’t stop until I was finished. I stayed up late into the night reading when I should have been getting my sleep for work in the morning. Like I said earlier, it’s one of the better paranormal books that I’ve read. I’ll be tuning in to the rest of this series. So sad I’ll have to wait a while for the next one! Good news is there’s a prequel that I haven’t read, so I’ll be reading that ASAP.

Go pick this one up! You won’t be disappointed. FYI: If you pre-order from Spencer Hill, you’ll receive an autographed copy (according to their website). The link is below.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://jenniferarmentrout.blogspot.com/
Purchase this book: Spencer Hill Press | Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I've been hearing TONS of great things about this book. I agree with you…As much as I love the paranormal, so much in the genre has been overdone these days that I'm always a little wary when I pick one up. Sounds like this one's an exception though!

    Reply
  2. Yes! I loved this. I can hardly wait for the next one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
