Guarding Suzannah

Guarding Suzannah
(To Serve and Protect #1)
by Norah Wilson
Published 2010
162 pages. E-book.
Rating: 5/5

Criminal defense attorney Suzannah Phelps is the bane of the St. Cloud police department (they call her She-Rex for her habit of shredding cops in the witness box). She is currently being stalked, but is reluctant to report it to the police, whom she half suspects of being the perpetrators. But when Detective John (Quigg) Quigley learns of it, he’s determined to protect her, at considerable risk to his career. They’ve struck sparks off each other in the courtroom, and he’s burning to do the same in the bedroom. When the danger escalates, he has the perfect excuse to pose as her boyfriend, but the closer they get, the more the lines between pretense and reality blur.

This is the first time I’ve read a romance involving cops, and I really enjoyed it. I think I’d like to try more of these. I’m definitely going to give the rest of this series a try. I suppose this book was like any other romance, but it also had a nice element of suspense that I suppose is what draws people to the crime novels I always avoid. Maybe I should try one out. I’ll love it if it’s half as interesting as this book.

Okay, so the plot is just a tad far-fetched, but that’s why we read books. I didn’t think the villain’s motives were all that far-fetched. Crazy people do crazy things. It’s the whole, “let me pose as your boyfriend” thing that I don’t find realistic. Either way, I liked it. It forced the characters in each other’s company. They got to know each other first, instead of falling straight into bed.

I adored John. He’s the sweetest, most sincere guy. He’d never let anything happen to Suzannah. He does everything he can to ensure her safety and it’s painfully obvious he cares about her. I can’t believe she never sees it. You’d have to be blind to miss the signals he sends. It takes her a little while to recognize and accept her own feelings. I loved Suzannah too. She was a strong, independent female lead, but she didn’t overdo it. With a little encouragement from John, she learned to depend on others to keep her safe in times of crisis. I can’t forget about Bandy! What a good dog!

There are some terrific plot twists. I thought I had it all figured out, and wow did I get a surprise. I had myself all built up for one outcome. I was even feeling a little smug that I’d figured it out, then Norah threw me a curve ball. Bravo, Ms. Wilson. I did not see that coming. I loved that suspense though. I loved the feeling of needing to know for sure. I wanted the mystery solved. That’s what kept me reading to the end. Perhaps, I’ve been too hasty in writing off mysteries, as well. I highly recommend this one to contemporary romance lovers who want some mystery and suspense thrown in there.

This book contains detailed sexual content. 18 and up, please!


Source: Purchased
Author’s website: http://norahwilsonwrites.com/
Purchase this book: Smashwords | Kobo Books

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great review. I read the book also, and loved it. And that dog was priceless. I'm not a dog person, but that one had its own personality for sure.

    Reply
  2. I know, right? Norah said it was based on a dog she had for many years. Same name and everything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
