Splendor

Splendor
(Luxe #4)
by Anna Godbersen
performed by Nina Siemaszko
Published 2009 by Harper Audio
8 hours, 53 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

New beginnings. Shocking revelations. Unexpected endings.

As spring turns into summer, Elizabeth relishes her new role as a young wife, while her sister, Diana, searches for adventure abroad. But when a surprising clue about their father’s death comes to light, the Holland girls wonder at what cost a life of splendor comes.

Carolina Broad, society’s newest darling, fans a flame from her past, oblivious to how it might burn her future. Penelope Schoonmaker is finally Manhattan royalty—but when a real prince visits the city, she covets a title that comes with a crown. Her husband, Henry, bravely went to war, only to discover that his father’s rule extends well beyond New York’s shores and that fighting for love may prove a losing battle.

In the dramatic conclusion to the bestselling Luxe series, New York’s most dazzling socialites chase dreams, cling to promises, and tempt fate. As society watches what will become of the city’s oldest families and newest fortunes, one question remains: Will its stars fade away or will they shine ever brighter?

It really took me until the very end of this series to get to a four star rating. I think with the other books there was just so much left open. The endings were less than satisfactory. Finally, I’ve reached the end of the journey with the society girls of New York, and I can finally say I’m satisfied. After all the twists and turns, I think it’s end pretty well. I’m sure there are plenty of people out there that wouldn’t agree with me. Let me just say, if there’s one thing Godbersen never let go of in this series it was the raw human nature of the characters. I think her endings were very realistic, and still happy.

Elizabeth’s story got really crazy. I’ve been so emotionally attached to her since book one. I was worried out of my mind once she found out what kind of trouble she was in. I have to say I felt a little smug. I knew something was wrong with how things had ended up for her. I just knew Godbersen had something more in store for that character. Diana and Henry really had something beautiful, but so much has constantly pulled them apart. This book is no different. People are still trying to separate them. Again, I have to appreciate Godbersen’s attention to human nature here. There are so many mistakes along the way, and you have to ask if these two could ever really make it together after all they’ve been through. The events in this book really try them. My final character praise is just to say thank God for Teddy Cutting. He’s probably the most sincere character in this whole series.

Two characters I never could bring myself to like were Penelope and Lina. I don’t care what happened to them, they brought it all on themselves. It’s nice that Lina could finally include her sister in her life, but I still dislike her. She’s spent the past year lying like crazy, and treats Tristan like a dog. I’m not particularly fond of Tristan, but she should understand him. Penelope has spent the entire series acting like a selfish bitch, so she pretty much got what was coming to her, which I have to say is so satisfying. Still, even her ending is a little unexpected.

So, I recommend this series. Just keep in mind that things aren’t happy and pretty. I think they seem like there will be ideal endings, but that’s not exactly how they are. There’s much more to them than that, and that’s what I really enjoyed about them. They’re easy reads, but they still have plenty to think about. I was so wrapped up in the stories I was dreaming about them. Seriously. Just, go with the print versions. I got used to Nina Siemaszko, but she doesn’t do a very good job. When I re-read these, I’ll stick with print.

Source: http://downloadable.jclc.org
Author’s website: http://www.bytseries.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I loved the series. While there was a lot left open, most of the story line was closed up with new things left open like a cliff hanger for the next. Your right, things aren't happy and pretty. It is full of scandal and drama. Everything that I would hate in my life, but love in a book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
