The God’s Wife

The God’s Wife
by Lynn Voedisch
Published 2011 by Fiction Studios
283 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

The women of ancient Egypt were the freest of any civilization on earth, until the modern era. In several dynasties of ancient Egypt the God’s Wives of Amun stood tall, priestesses of wealth and power, who represented the pinnacle of female power in the Egyptian state. Many called the God’s Wife of Amun second only to the Pharaoh in dominance The God’s Wife follows the adventures of a 16-year-old girl, Neferet, who is thrust into the role of The Gods Wife of Amun without proper training. Surrounded by political intrigue and ensnared by sexual stalking, Neferet navigates the temple, doing her duties, while keeping her family name pristine and not ending up like her predecessor—dead. Meanwhile, a modern-day Chicago dancer, Rebecca, is rehearsing for a role in an ancient Egyptian production and finds herself blacking out and experiencing realistic dreams about life in Egypt. It’s as if she’s coming in contact with Neferet’s world. Are the two parallel worlds on a collision course? They seem to be, for Neferet has just used an old spell to bring protection to her world, and Rebecca meets a mysterious Egyptian man who says he’ll whisk her away to Alexandria. Magic and realism mix for a powerful ending in The God’s Wife.

I knew when I read the synopsis that this book had the potential to be great. I think it realizes that potential fully. Lynn Voedisch has done such a wonderful job with this book. Aside from a little publishing error (which the author says is being fixed), I couldn’t find a thing I didn’t like about The God’s Wife. In fact, I struggled a little with my rating. I thought the book was very well done and I find myself wanting to give it a 5/5, but I try to reserve that for books that totally blow me out of the water. I’m so torn! Just believe me when I say it’s great.

The transitions from Rebecca’s world to Neferet’s world are seamless. That’s so important when switching time periods so drastically. But it’s perfect. I had no trouble visualizing where I was. I absolutely loved everything written in ancient Egypt. I really got a sense of that setting. It was so easy to visualize. Also, the connection between Rebecca and Neferet was so well done. It’s what really pulled me into the story.

Both characters are strongly represented. I connected well with both, though I think I felt more connected to Neferet than Rebecca. That’s a little unusual, considering she’s ancient Egyptian royalty. Still, her character spoke to me a little more. It could just be because I love historical settings. Though both characters are strong and their connection is a huge part of the book, I felt like the book was more plot driven.

I’ve never quite read anything like The God’s Wife, so it’s difficult for me to give a point of reference. I suppose it’s literary historical fiction. There’s a little twist of the supernatural with the connection between Rebecca and Neferet, but it’s a subtle twist. It doesn’t make too much of itself, and I like that. It just feels like a natural part of the story.

Like I said, The God’s Wife is very well done. It’s a fascinating plot idea that’s backed up by good writing and strong characters. Love the cover. I think it’s perfect. I do hope you’ll consider giving this one a read.

Source: Author
Author’s website: http://www.lynnvoedisch.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh, this sounds like something I would enjoy! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
