BBAW: Community, Part II

The world of book blogging has grown enormously and sometimes it can be hard to find a place. Share your tips for finding and keeping community in book blogging despite the hectic demands made on your time and the overwhelming number of blogs out there. If you’re struggling with finding a community, share your concerns and explain what you’re looking for–this is the week to connect!

Again, I have to say that I’m a little shy in this department. I’ve never been very good at initiating conversation with people I don’t know. It usually just ends up with me being awkward. I have to say in my few experiences over the past year, I have found it a little easier with book bloggers. I imagine this is because we have something in common: we love books! It’s so easy for me to get talking if it’s about a book I’ve read or really want to read. I guess that’s the reason I have book blogs in the first place. I’ve recently tried to be a little more active in the community. I’ve been trying to reply to comments, comment more on other blogs, and I’ve become a little more active on Twitter. I do still feel overwhelmed sometimes. I’m not very discriminatory when it comes to following so I follow A LOT of blogs. I also follow a lot of them on Twitter. It can feel a little overwhelming when I’m trying to comment on all their blog hops or IMMs. I try though, and if I miss you, I’m sorry. I don’t have nearly as much time to do that kind of thing as I wish I did.

Anyway, for those who would like to get to know me a little better and become friends. Here’s all my fun social networking stuff. I’m really good about answering email. I’m on Twitter at night during the week and most Saturdays. I’m on Facebook chat every night via Skype. And my Skype is usually open. If you do want to friend me on Facebook, please let me know in the request that you know me from my blog. Otherwise, I might not realize who you are and decline the request.

Twitter: @owltellyou
Email: owltellyouaboutit@gmail.com
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2555689-laura-ashlee?ref=header
Google+: https://plus.google.com/106136922458510857848/posts?hl=en
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=41805653
Skype: lauraashlee9

That feels like a lot of networking. I’m also on Book Blogs, but I almost never use it so I’m not going to bother posting that link. I hope we can be friends!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I'm glad I'm not the only one who feels overwhelmed. Sometimes I look at all the blogs out there and wonder what I got myself into.Alison at The Cheap Reader

    Reply
  2. Great idea to post your contact info — that's an excellent way to get some community going! I find Twitter to be pretty overwhelming, too, so I mostly just watch people tweeting, but I'm trying to be better about it!

    Reply
  3. Believe me, Alison. You are not alone. There are SO MANY bloggers it's crazy! And I get overwhelmed by twitter too. It can be difficult to join in sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
