Forever

Forever
(Wolves of Mercy Falls #3)
by Maggie Stiefvater
Published 2011 by Scholastic, Inc
390 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 5/5

In Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. In Linger, they fought to be together. Now, in Forever, the stakes are even higher than before. Wolves are being hunted. Lives are being threatened. And love is harder and harder to hold on to as death comes closing in.

I’ve been debating whether or not to do a review for this. Sometimes, I feel silly writing a review for something that’s already been reviewed a million times. However, I’ve read mixed reviews on this one. That’s what swayed me to throw my feelings out there.

First of all, I loved it. I thought it was the perfect conclusion to the trilogy. I know there were some people out there that weren’t satisfied, and I think I know why. Expectations are everything. It’s easy to be let down when you’re expecting too much. It’s also easy to be impressed when you’re expecting something to be bad. Maybe the one or two reviews I read that complained about the book lowered my expectations. I’m not sure. I just think this trilogy is so much more understated than other paranormal books. The ending wasn’t epic, but it was appropriate. Just my opinion.

There’s a note in the back where Maggie says that the love Sam and Grace share is very real, you just have to find it. I have to say I agree. There’s something so incredibly realistic about their love. It’s not crazy, intense, desperate love that could change the world. It’s so much more simple than that. They love each other. They want to be together, and they plan their lives together. They do all they can to stay together. I love the way they are together. It kind of reminds me of me and my boyfriend (though he is no Sam and I am definitely no Grace). It’s easy for them to be around each other, and it’s enough to be together. It’s enough to be in the same room. It’s a pretty great feeling. But enough of my ramblings about love! More about the book!

I just love Cole and Isabel. They’re not exactly a couple or anything, but they’re two screwed up people that understand each other. Cole, particularly, is far more complex than he allows people to see. He might be my favorite character in the whole trilogy. There’s a lot I could go on and on about, but I’d probably just end up ruining the ending for anyone who hasn’t read it. I’ll just say I loved it, and I might have cried a couple of times… just a little bit.

 Source: Purchased
Author’s website: http://maggiestiefvater.com/
Purchase this book: Scholastic, Inc | Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I really need to get cracking on this trilogy. I have only read the first book so far…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
