The Game of Love

The Game of Love
by Jeanette Murray
Publication Date: August 29, 2011
Publisher: Carina Press
250 pages. E-book.
Rating: 3/5

Chris St. James is ready for normal. After walking away from her pro tennis career and a toxic relationship with a star hockey player, she’s starting a new life as a teacher and tennis coach in a small town. Now all she needs is an average guy to share it with.

Brett Wallace is no average guy. Forced to retire from the NFL after an injury—and suddenly single after being dumped by his status-conscious wife—he’s returned to his hometown to coach the varsity football team. Wary of women interested only in his celebrity, Brett finds Chris’s indifference to his former career refreshing.

The last thing Chris needs is to get involved with another pro athlete, but she can’t deny the sparks that fly between them. So she agrees to a purely physical, no-strings-attached affair. But the rules of the game change when she falls for him…

This book was pretty good, but there were things that kept me from loving it. Maybe it’s partly because I just read The Perfect Play a couple of weeks ago. It’s hard to keep from comparing, especially when you’ve read two books so similar around the same time. There were things I liked and things I didn’t, so I’ll try to break it down like that.

I really liked Brett. He was funny and so sweet. He had such a big heart and he really showed it, even if Chris was too blind to see it sometimes. He cared. not only for her, but for the boys he coached as well. When he was wrong about something, he came out and said so. He apologized and never let his pride get in the way of that. He did have a mini freak out toward the end, but I think it was pretty justified. I also loved his mother. She was so precious! Wise mothers are the best. And finally, Katie (Chris’s friend and the wife of Brett’s best buddy). I loved her pregnancy-induced snark. It made me laugh out loud.

I was no crazy about Chris. Okay, I get being burned. I’ve had bad boyfriends too, even boyfriends that were mean to me (though maybe no quite on the same plane as Dax). Just because you have a bad relationship doesn’t mean you stereotype an entire group of men. She spent half of the book comparing everything Brett did to Dax. It was so annoying. I totally get doing that at first, begin cautious. She just couldn’t let it go, and it came off as childish. That was pretty much what I didn’t like. Just her. I warmed up to her a little bit toward the end, but I never really loved her or anything.

I’d say if you’re in the mood for a football romance it’s a pretty good one. Even if I didn’t fall in love with it, you could.

This book contains profanity, violence and detailed sexual content. 18 and up, please!


Source: NetGalley
Author’s website: http://jeanettemurray.com/
Purchase this book: Carina Press

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
