Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss
by Stephanie Perkins
Published 2010 by Dutton
372 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 5/5

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

CUTEST BOOK EVER! Ok, so I said that about Lola and the Boy Next Door. And it was also cute. In fact, I can’t decide which one I liked better. I decided I don’t need to choose and that I’m just going to say that Stephanie Perkins is awesome. The only thing that’s frustrating is the fact that I waited so long to read this book. WHY DID I DO THAT? Listen (er, read… more closely), this part is important. If you haven’t read this, do not put it off any longer. Read it immediately. Then, on September 29th, go buy Lola and the Boy Next Door and read that too. You will thank me when you get that adorable giddy feeling at the end of them. Enough with the fangirly talk.

Anna is awesome. First, she’s from the South. Okay, so Atlanta isn’t really the same as small town Alabama, but it still helps me relate. I love how she worries about having a Southern accent. I used to worry about that too, but I don’t think I have one. Do I? Anyone who’s watched an IMM, do I have a Southern accent? Anyway, she also writes reviews, which is awesome, even if they are about movies and not books. Though, I kind of have this feeling that she writes more professional and critical reviews and I pretty much blabber about books I love the same way I talk. Still, I can relate when people ask the question “why do you write reviews?” I’ve been asked that tons of times. It can get annoying. The point of all that babbling was to say that Anna is relatable.

Etienne. I refuse to call him St. Clair because I hate it when people call other people by their last names. I’m so glad no one ever did that to me. I used to hate my last name. I’m okay with it now, but I would still hate for someone to call me by it. Anyway, Etienne is so adorable. It’s the Briticisms. It has to be. They’re precious. I also really love the way he is around Anna. He picks at her, but if anyone else tries to mess with her, he gets protective. It’s sweet. I also feel bad for him. He goes through a lot in this book. But Anna is there for him.

Bottom line: this books is great. It’s so cute and sweet and will make you want to cuddle like crazy when you finish it. The characters deal with some issues and are a little frustrating sometimes, but it’s so hard to put down. I read Lola before I read this book, so that was a little out of order, but it was kind of cool. Anna and Etienne are in Lola, so I got this sneak peak of them. After I read this book, it helped me understand some of the things they say in Lola. Super, majorly, highly recommended!

Source: my bookshelf!
Author’s website: http://stephanieperkins.com/
Purchase this book: Dutton/Penguin | The Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. The book is on the way! Ordered it via Book Depository and can't wait to read it. Thanks for the fab review :-)Have you read Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire? It's a YA (somethings more adult) college romance. You'll find a review on my blog. _yay_ @ http://bookthatthing.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I hope you love it as much as I did. I haven't read Beautiful Disaster. I'll have to go check it out at your blog.

    Reply
  3. I enjoyed reading your review! I don't think I loved it quite as much as you… but I really, really enjoyed this book 🙂 I'm pumped to read Lola soon too!!!!!! So glad I read this one first, though. Now I know that Stephanie Perkins is a cool author and her work is so easy to relate to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
