Fury

Fury
by Elizabeth Miles
Release Date: August 30, 2011
Publisher: Simon Pulse
352 pages. ARC.
Rating: 5/5

Sometimes sorry isn’t enough….

It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems…

Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better–the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.

On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel…something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.

In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.

Em and Chase have been chosen.

Wow. I was apprehensive, but this book was actually really good. I’m always a little apprehensive of books with hype. Sometimes they turn out to be good, but most of the time they don’t meet my expectations. This book is totally deserving of any hype it’s gotten. It was suspenseful and felt so original. I certainly haven’t read enough books to say this topic hasn’t been done before. I’m sure it has, but I’ve never read anything like Fury. It was so refreshing in so many ways. Let me try to stop being fangirly and explain what makes Fury awesome.

First, the furies. So creepy. I’m not usually into creepy, but it was done well in this book. They aren’t so creepy they’re terrifying, but they definitely give me the chills. Some of the things they do are the kind of things that make me close the curtains in my room and try not to think about when I trying to get to sleep (yes, I am a huge baby when it comes to things that go bump in the night). They’re so heartless, and I can’t wait for more of it, especially after that ending.

Chase and Em are great. Oh, how my heart goes out to Chase. He does his share of bad, but I feel so awful about some of the things that happen to him. Em is wonderful, and so sweet. I just wish she weren’t so blind. I got a little frustrated with her about the whole Zach thing, and the JD thing. I’ll be glad to see where things go with her in the next book. It looks like she’s got some challenges ahead of her.

The plot is great. It kept me guessing, which kept me reading. I devoured the whole thing in one night. I definitely recommend this book. Just know that you’re getting into a series and that you’ll be up all night reading. Great debut, Ms. Miles!

 Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://www.elizabethmilesbooks.com/
Purchase this book: Simon & Schuster | Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I just read this one too, actually my review is up on my blog today too 🙂 I think my fav thing was the furies! They were so creepy! Elizabeth Miles did such a good job describing them, I was jumping at shadows too. Great review.

    Reply
  2. I think I have your review starred to read and comment on in my feed reader. I'm glad I'm not the only one who thought the furies were so creepy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
